Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Cranston, RI
Students enrolled: 315

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


W. R. Dutemple School 4

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Both of my kids have been going to Dutemple since Kindergarten and they are currently in first and third grade. We all LOVE this school. We have never had any issues and they have both had many caring, intelligent, compassionate teachers. There is a true feeling of community at this school because it is so small, and the teachers and parents seem to have a mutual interest in the kids' education. The principal is often out walking around the school yard after school, and I feel that if I ever had an issue I could approach her and talk about it. I have had conversations with her and she is helpful and friendly. My son has a peanut allergy and I feel he is very safe at this school as well. The only thing I would improve is that I wish there were more challenging materials. It seems that all of the kids are doing the same level of work, which is just mediocre. I have friends who live in other states and their kids are doing much more challenging work. I'm not sure if this is because of this particular school or the RI school system as a whole though.

W. R. Dutemple School 1

Posted June 22, 2013
- a community member
One word: Awful. I had teachers that treated me like I was two, then teachers that treated me like I was 19. Bullying there: Disgusting. Teachers and principles had no control, nor did they try and gain it. I was there from 2006-12 and I hated it. Most of the time, students were treated like animals. I will never send my kids to that school. EVER.


W. R. Dutemple School 1

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Dutemple is not for us! We transferred there after moving to Cranston, and it doesn't even compare to our old school in MA. My son was in an accelerated reading program in his old school. It seems Dutemple doesn't even offer such programs, nor do they encourage daily reading. His teacher doesn't seem to know how to communicate with her young students properly. She speaks so my son with attitude and frustration, even when he's NOT misbehaving. Maybe she's teaching the wrong grade level, because a teacher is supposed to be supportive and helpful to students who may not understand directions the first time around. Be patient and understanding! We are going back to our old school!

W. R. Dutemple School 5

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
Teacher/ staff went above and beyond helping my daughter, who struggles w/ reading. Very supportive.

W. R. Dutemple School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


W. R. Dutemple School 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W. R. Dutemple School 1

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W. R. Dutemple School 3

Posted December 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


W. R. Dutemple School 1

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

W. R. Dutemple School 5

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W. R. Dutemple School
32 Garden St, Cranston, RI  02910
(401) 270-8104
Last modified W. R. Dutemple School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
W. R. Dutemple School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top