Advertisement
Advertisement

Mercymount Country Day School

Private | PK-8 | 434 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cumberland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

We pulled my older son out when he entered seventh and are pulling my younger son out next year. Academically the school was very good until around sixth grade where it goes downhill thereafter. The school is more concerned about its "look" than it is about individual student needs. In some respects I regret having sent my children there. The Spanish program is a joke. six years and my oldest has learned nothing. The sixth grade math teacher needs to retire as he does not know how to teach. The teachers and faculty in general play favoritism to the point that at is somewhat of a running joke among the parents. The school runs one way and that's Sister Martha's way and that is it. Reminiscent of the stories my mother told me about catholic schools in her day and why she quit school before graduating. And they wonder why enrollment is decreasing and losing students to other schools to finish middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Both my daughters attended Mercymount. They both loved this school. The faculty are caring and devoted, the academics are challenging, and the sports program is awesome. My girls played basketball, volleyball, and cross country and they are super competitive. Mock Trial, and theatre are also fun for the kids. Another plus about this school is the kids are so nice to one another. There is a zero tolerance for any bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

Mercymount is a wonderful christian, family-oriented school! My children LOVE going to school and they are greatly benefiting from a nuturing, learning environment. The teacher prepared them to succeed on their standard testing all while having fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I think Mercymount is a fabulous school all around. I had intended on only sending my kids for Kindergarten but love it so much I could never take them out of the school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

A strong elementary program but very weak Middle School. The elementary school program has a solid group of teachers; quite dedicated and diligent in following the progress of each student. It's unfortunate this is offset by a subpar middle school program that lacks the fundamentals available in the public school. It's the reason more than half the students depart in the 6th grade for other middle schools, including Mount St. Charles, LaSalle and town public schools. Culturally the school is lacking as the Principal ignores all issues raised by the parents. It's a frustrating exercise as complaints on bullying, teacher issues, and program exceptions receive no reply. The parents essentially run the school and have far too much say in the activities and involvement of those outside the circle of wealthy and influential suburban families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

I highly recommend Mercymount Country Day School, in Cumberland, RI. My daughter has been going to MCDS since Pre-K and is now in the second grade. We love that the school educates the "whole person" and teaches and expects each student to act with respect, responsibility and kindness. Academically, the bar is set high, and the children rise to the occasion. Whenever she encounters difficulty, I know immediately and the teacher works-with us to make sure she understands the subject matter before moving-on. I find the teacher very approachable and are happy to communicate with the parents to discuss any issue or concern. However, our greatest pleasure is the environment. The children are held accountable for their actions and are expected to behave and act in an appropriate manner. I have never seen bad behavior, freshness or unkindness tolerated. We love the Catholic Educate but know that there are many diverse backgrounds and religions at Mercymount. The school practices tolerance and expects each student to respect one another. We couldn't be happier with Mercymount, and fully intend to send our daughter there through the 8th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

I was a student here and i have been bullied with the prinipal ignoring me.


Posted January 26, 2010

Teaching Spanish (beginning in kindergarten), which will actually be beneficial to our children, rather than French or another language less likely to be helpful in the long term, is one of many distinguishing factors about this school. Mercymount captures the true essence of a comprehensive curriculum, balancing top quality education in the core subjects, with the teachings of the Catholic church. The faculty and staff are beyond peer. You simply can not get a better education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

Worth every penny. I am a huge fan of exposing childen to a variety of things to make them accountable for their actions. MMCD certainly does this. Between the academics, Spanish, art culture, music and religion to name a few. This schoolis a perfect fit for our 2 boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

My daughter will be starting her 4th year at Mercymount in the fall. She loves the school. The teachers are very dedicated to the students. I also feel that saying The Pledge of Allegiance helps to teach our children what a great country we live in. What we love most about the school is the dedication from the parents. I am on several committees and voulnteer fo lunch,recess and almost any event at the school.This gives me achance to be involved in my daughter's education. W parents to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

Mercymount is a pleasure to go to, I am in sixth grade and I love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2004

This being my daughters first year at MMCD she just loves it. With the strong leadership directed by Sister Martha. She is so involve with the day to day things, being there for each and every students daily. The teachers are so involved with each child. That no child go unnoticed at all. It's only been a few months but we have seen such a change in our daughter of how much she has learned. HOw she treats people. There is so much involve with teaching and these teachers at MMCD have proven that its not just a job to them it's their life which I feel makes a big difference when they are with your children the most important thing in your life 7-8 hours a day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 9%
Hispanic 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Wrentham Rd
Cumberland, RI 02864
Phone: (401) 333-5919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Community School
Cumberland, RI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT