Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


B.F. Norton Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Fortunately the best of the best teachers work at B.F. Norton. My children have attended other Cumberland schools and hands down the most dedicated staff can be found at B.F. The principal seems to genuinely care about the school, the students and the teachers. I feel the test scores and hence lower "Great Schools Ranking" is largely due to the much higher percentage of English as a Second Language students. Which brings to mind another positive of B.F. which is the diversity of the student body. This prepares students to respect other cultures, religions etc. Great school, I would fight to keep my kids in B.F. if they tried to redistrict and I think that says it all.

B.F. Norton Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
The kids are kids to each other.my son and daughter have the best teacher of the world


B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
The diversity of children and the caring, fun loving staff!!!!

B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a teacher
BF Norton is a great school with a wonderful staff! The students' learning and needs come first at our school and everyone is willing to do thier part to insure a well rounded education for all.

B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
I have worked in BF for 6 yrs now and thru the years I have learned how closely everyone works together to make sure each childs needs are met to the best of their ability, I love the caring of BF staff.


B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Day in and day out the faculty and staff do so much with so little, it would be nice to win the money and get some much need technology and other resources into our school!

B.F. Norton Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a teacher
This school is composed of the most loving and hardworking children and teachers.

B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I love it because of the people who together create such a positive learning environment. Students, their families and staff.


B.F. Norton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Collegiality among staff is professional, loving and ongoing. Most staff begin their careers in this building and retire from BFN. We work the most at-risk students in our community. Having the most at-risk population in our district, and the pressure of high stakes testing no one wants to leave BF and teach at any other building. Rather, teachers from other schools want to come to us!

B.F. Norton Elementary School 4

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
It has been my experience that the entire staff at B.F. Norton School is extremely dedicated and supportive to all of its students. What they contribute to each student's education at this school, goes well beyond the average school day. It is not an uncommom sight to see staff working well beyond school hours. This school is also very supportive of literacy. Their Family reading Club is awesome! It is a family oriented school that offers many family events, mostly at no cost. This school offers a student body of great diversity, which is proven to produce more well rounded children.If the parental involvement was increased here, the possibilities would be endless. We are very fortunate to our child attend such a great school and we are looking forward to another great year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

B.F. Norton Elementary School
364 Broad St, Cumberland, RI  02864
(401) 722-7610
Last modified B.F. Norton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
B.F. Norton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top