Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Cumberland, RI
Students enrolled: 1,461

3 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cumberland High School 4

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Under new leadership, Cumberland High School has soared. The teachers have high expectations for all of the students and work to help them all be successful. The teachers are very accessible any time help is needed. Every child has the opportunity to challenge themselves in honors or AP classes. School spirit is on the rise and is evident with the number of students who come out to support their sports teams, which happen to be very competitive. Recently renovated, the school is very clean and well maintained. Overall I believe CHS offers a great learning community.

Cumberland High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Something for everyone! If your child is a high achiever there are many AP options. If your child struggles, CHS has a program in place to help them attain proficiency. Teachers are professional and very supportive. Top notch sports teams with outstanding support from the CHS students. Numerous activities for students interested in art, music, debate, math, leadership, etc truly something for everyone.


Cumberland High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
CHS deserves an "unsung hero" award.It contributes so much to the families in this town, yet for some reason is still widely undervalued.The teachers are dedicated to the students in and out of the classrooms.They coach teams, organize and chaperone international field trips and other events in and out of school.The culture under the new leadership structure is fantastic.It promotes citizenship and pride among staff and students alike.AP course selections are plentiful and offered to students at every grade level now.Expectations are high and the administration is slowly but surely eradicating teachers who do not rise to the challenge.I went back and forth between 4 and 5 stars only because I feel that there's always room for improvement, but that requires financial resources.The continued growth in achievement levels, the addition of new courses, the uptick in school pride have all been done, for the most part, with limited financial resources, which makes it all the more deserving of 5 stars.

Cumberland High School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
Cumberland High School is loaded with a community of faculty, staff and administrators that honestly do care about the education of our children. They are constantly striving to improve our curriculum and increase the difficulty of courses and pathways offered. CHS has earned NEASC accreditation, been recognized by Education Commissioner Deborah Gist as a school of distinction, expanded Advanced Placement Courses, increased the school s four-year graduation rate, and jumped 30 percent, from 40 percent in 2012 to 70 percent in 2013, in the number of juniors scoring proficient in writing. The school has been lauded as an Innovation School by the New England Secondary School Consortium. We are proud to have our first child graduate in 2014 and get into all 11 colleges or universities he applied to. The school offers many different types of clubs, art and music programs, and sports teams to get involved with. GO BLUE!! Clipper pride rising....

Cumberland High School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Cumberland High School has improved dramatically over the last few years. District itself among the top growth districts based on the Department of Education's analysis. CHS offers more than 20 AP courses and has continued to add more each year. New leadership has improved the academic program as well as the school environment. Clubs and sports are plentiful. Music/art programs are rebuilding with enormous enthusiasm and energy. Principal/ assistant prinicpals are passionate and committed to ongoing improvements. Looking forward to continued improvements so my younger children can benefit.


Cumberland High School 1

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
I have no reason to dislike this school other than my own experience while my kids attended CHS. For heaven's sake, protect your children and find another school.

Cumberland High School 1

Posted December 27, 2012
- a parent
Horrible. Middle and elementary schools here are great but do not send your child to this high school. Principals and teachers don't care about students. Only students that do well are honors and students with behavioral or developmental disabilities because they are the only ones that get any attention. Nevermind the fact that RI schools are making it almost impossible to graduate with new portfolio system where you have to take samples of your work from each high school year and present it to a board of people to graduate. Also they have made it that a 72 is now passing and if you fail any one out of three semesters you fail for the year. Please for your kids consider any other option than Cumberland high.

Cumberland High School 5

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
By far the best public school my daughter has ever gone to. The teachers are some of the best, and they don't get enough praise


Cumberland High School 2

Posted August 24, 2012
- a student
Perhaps this review will be considered null and void since new management will be implemented soon, but here's my review of the school in the past two years that I have spent here. The expression "You'll remember high school for the rest of your life," holds true for me. Because I'll always remember the friends and staff that wade through the sheer IDIOCY and BLANDNESS of this domicile of education. Don't get me wrong; the staff is fantastic and they always put their best foot forward to help students. But the lack of school spirit and discipline makes the place feel like a racetrack, with everybody trying to finish as fast as possible. Homecoming dance has been cancelled for a whopping five years and counting because no one thought to attend. Kids herd together at lunch in social cliques because there seems to be no other way to talk to each other. And the detention policy? An hour after school to have your teacher glare at a room full of kids and then letting them go isn't punishment. It's the extended version of, "Which one of you kids threw that piece of paper?!" Staffers, if you're reading this, please note you guys are the best, so I gave the teacher rating 5/5. School, 2/5.

Cumberland High School 1

Posted February 15, 2012
- a student
The Cumberland Schools aren't too bad but the high school is absolutely horrible if you are an average B student. Special attention is paid to honors students or fundamental students; average students get lost in the shuffle. This is a big high school with horrible administration. I hated being there everyday and I'm happy to be out of that school. There are some great teachers but the bad teachers are easier to find at this school. I would NEVER send my children or recommend anyone send their children to Cumberland High.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cumberland High School
2600 Mendon Rd, Cumberland, RI  02864
(401) 658-2600
Last modified Cumberland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cumberland High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top