Advertisement
Advertisement

Rocky Hill School

Private | PK-12 | 300 students

Our school has a waterfront campus and small, discussion-based classrooms.

 
 

Living in East Greenwich

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $333,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

This school is overall wonderful and my children love it. However, the teachers could become more proactive in helping students strengthen the emotional part in their lives. My children often tell me about struggles they face with little assistant, and even added pressures or stress. Other than that, Rocky Hill is wonderful and sending my children there was the right decision. They have become more independent and self reliant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Rocky Hill School is an exceptional learning environment and it is also such a welcoming community. While I am always struck by the sheer beauty of the campus, it is the dedication of the faculty that makes the school outstanding. The small class size allows student's to be enriched across disciplines. My daughter has been able to explore interests in robotics, programming, sculpting and the marine environment and she is only in sixth grade. Rocky Hill is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

Rocky Hill School encourages each student to strive to achieve their personal best, in academics, sports and activities. The teachers engage students in learning and provide an atmosphere where children thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

Excellent staff and supportive educational environment. RH is a gem of a school that encourages participation of all students in academics and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

I have a first grader and a preschooler at Rocky hill. I told the first grade teacher that my daughter skips to school. There are nine children in her class. The teacher is easy going, gives them a ton of individualized attention and teaches them to respect one another. She is easily accessible on e-mail. The teaching model is project based learning. One month, they learned about masterpieces. Each student created 3-4 masterpieces based on certain historical art figures. They spent time every day on these pieces. At the end of the month, they went on a field trip to RISD. I loved it! It taught my daughter to slow down and think about what she is creating, a lesson that will help her follow through with all school projects. Also, the kids will research a topic at the library, such as a favorite animal. They will then brainstorm on different facts, list the facts in categories, write an essay and present it to their class. My son is in preschool with 2-3 teachers and 13 children.He takes classes with specialty teachers, Spanish, music, art, science, library,and gym. My husband and I were worried about cost. However, the school offered us a fair financial aid package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

I have two children at Rocky Hill, one in middle school and the other in high school. I have found the quality of academics to be outstanding. My children are excited to learn and work hard to excel every day. They are very enthusiastic in their participation of school activities from sports to the arts and our family enjoys the extracurricular activities that Rocky Hill has to offer. My high school student is confident and doing well by all standardized measures and is preparing for college applications and will be very competitive for top schools. Both children are engaged in sports and arts. We are particularly impressed with the schools willingness to support students that want to challenge themselves over the summer and take additional advanced courses outside of the school. The location of the school on Narragansett Bay is unmatched. We have spent many wonderful afternoons watching sports matches while gazing across the beautiful landscape. We are very pleased with Rocky Hill and grateful to have such a wonderful place to send our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

The Upper School has been doing a great job in preparing our child for college. The "Harkness" seminar format and use of computers and technology is miles ahead of public schools in this regard. The school has wonderful facilities right on the water in Narragansett Bay and makes use of its access with classes on and by the water. Our child has definately improved in self-confidence and quality of work as well as group debate and discussion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

We are proud parents of 2 children currently attending Rocky Hill School; 1 in Middle and 1 in the Upper school. We are happy to share that children of all academic capabilities fit in well at Rocky Hill School. It is wonderful to have a school with great academic rigor, REAL diversity, and flexibility. While developing socially, spiritually, athletically and theatrically they are able to develop a healthy sense of self in a well-rounded environment. We find that RHS provides a calming, quiet powerful start to their day, which helps the children to build a partnership with their teachers. It is a small school, yet large enough to accommodate different learning styles. The Harkness table model is a perfect setting where discussions are encouraged and used quite effectively. We have found it to be an exceptional learning tool when tough issues arise as the faculty addresses them immediately. The campus is well situated on the beautiful Narragansett Bay enabling unlimited educational possibilities. There is a real sense of community and this is demonstrated, as you will often see children from all three divisions collaborating and working together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

My son is in the third grade and started here this year. This is an excellent school. The teachers are wonderful and are available any time to address any concerns. For the first time, my son is not bored in school and is being appropriately challenged. This school has a great headmaster. The teachers, staff, parents and children are a close community who enjoy being part of Rocky Hill. Academics are great as well as extra curricular classes. I would highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Rocky Hill has proven itself to be an excellent choice for my high school child. The advisor system ensures that each upper school student has a teacher/mentor that gets to know him or her, and they stick together for the full upper school career. The Harkness Tables ensure that every student has a front-row seat in the classroom, and the integration of technology (every student has a personal laptop) is important in preparing students for college and career. Each student joins at least one academic club and one "fun" club to create a well-rounded experience. The campus is safe and idyllic, with a dock for boating and water-based science study. The new food service is astounding, and is a good match for the values of the school. The sports teams do well, and accept all interested students. Seniors participate in month-long end-of-year internship projects off campus to expand their horizons. The upper school labs, facilities, and classrooms are beautiful, well-kept, and appropriate. Learning truly does cut across the curriculum in appropriate ways. The head of school, division heads, and teachers work to involve and value Rocky Hill families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Our daughter attended Rocky Hill for the Upper School after elementary and middle school at another private school. The experience greatly exceeded our expectations and she blossomed during her years there. In addition to a beautiful and state-of-the-art facility, the community of students, parents, teachers, and administrators is welcoming and caring. The academics are challenging and the laptop program puts the everyday use of technology ahead of all other secondary schools and most colleges. Being a small school, she had many more opportunities to participate in extra-curricular activities than she would have at a larger school. Students learn to be self-directed and responsible in both academic and social situations. There is a dress code and students are expected to dress and behave appropriately. She and her friends are respectful and mature and well prepared for college. The college counseling and preparation are beyond compare: it begins in the sophmore year and extends through application and acceptance. Most students are accepted to their college of choice with ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

I have two students at rocky hill, one in middle school and the other in elementary. I believe that rocky hill is a top quality school. My children are confident, respectful and self reliant. The elementary could be a bit more challenging, but the important thing is that they provide a great foundation for a child's self-esteem. The technology is top notch and they use harkness tables in the classrooms. These tables are large oval tables where the teachers and students sit together facing each other. No child is scene and not heard from in this setting. Independence, accountability and self-motivation are the goal. The work that is given in middle school is challenging and expectations for this work is high. They do not overwhelm this age group with unnecessary busy work, which in my mind is important especially because at this age they are developing, changing and growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

The curriculum appears excellent with the new computer technology. The lower school has some qualified teachers and some inexperienced teachers in that children are humiliated rather than encouraged. The preschool is not impressive in any respect, except that your children are safe. Although a smaller class size would be desirable to some, it was too small for us and not academically challenging enough. The teachers do not take on any role to assist children in progressing, the children are expected to perform on cue with little or no guidance. I have seen little insight and accurate perception applied to each individual child. I could not justifiably recommend this school for the long term.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

Absolutely fabulous, individualized learning for all grades and types of students. Have had a daughter and son graduate and attend the colleges of their choice, and a current 10th grade son who is extremely happy. Rocky Hill is a wonderful alternative and gem of a school. We couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Extraordinary environment & teaching excellence that fosters creative, independent, leadership-quality individuals; recommended for all levels of intelligence who seek to grow & succeed to develop their true potentials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We have had two students graduate from Rocky Hill School. Our two children are different from night and day. One with a learning disability and one who loved school and worked hard. The school gave as much attention to both children and did as much as they could to help with their success. The school is rather small which is good academically. Socally, the kids get through learning to deal with each other because the number in each class is so small. We have enjoyed being involved with all the school offers. The student comes first and how they mature in the years at the school is understood and worked into all that they do. We feel we made a good decision in sending our children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 67%
Hispanic 4% 19%
Black 3% 9%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Peter M. Branch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (401) 885-4985

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Certamen
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Polar Bear
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Merit Scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

530 Ives Rd
East Greenwich, RI 02818
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 884-9070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Archie R. Cole Middle School
East Greenwich, RI


George Hanaford School
East Greenwich, RI


Forest Park Elementary School
North Kingstown, RI


Meadowbrook Farms School
East Greenwich, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT