Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Archie R. Cole Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 419 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Posted February 6, 2014

I currently attend cole I'm in 6th grade I highly recommend sending your kids here I moved from west warwick and I had friends on the first day everyone is so nice I'm in love with this school I can't say anything bad about this school but I can say bad things about my old school I love how this school doesn't tolerate bullying and also don't go to freeing they don't care about bullying they just say deal with it!!!!


Posted March 25, 2013

Horrible response time from teachers/administration. Very unoganized!! Possible for kids to slip through if the administration doesn't think they are worth helping. This school tends to cover up incidents so you will never know if anything bad happens to your child!!!


Posted May 2, 2010

Hello, I am a currently attending Cole Middle School right now. Cole is a very good school, mostly all teachers are nice and and the extracarricular activities are great! If you were thinking about enrolling your child to Cole, it is a very good idea. We are the BEST of the BEST! 'EAST IS BEAST!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

I attend this school currently and it is definitley of of the bet middle schools in the state, if not the best. There are not many cilques and new students blend in fast and within a month its like they've been there forever. The color team program is organized and there are many amazing after-school activities to participate. There are high expectations but not difficult to achieve and the teachers are very understanding and kind. GO COLE LANCERS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

I attend this school right now, and all I can say is WOW! I have been in this school my entire middle school career, and it has been a blast! Yes, the teachers do expect a lot from you and set high standards, but it's nothing unattainable, as I am an honor student. The students are extremely friendly and the different programs offered are fantastic, especially the new one called C2 (C squared). It's a great way to get close to people you may not have been friends with before. The teachers and staff at Cole always have fun new ideas and raffles to enter with fun and crazy things! The Cole Mile is coming up again and I can't wait for another fun day! I highly suggest sending your children here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

I attend this school currently and I think it's great. I moved from Barrington public schools last year, and I do think they compare at the same, if not Cole is a little better. GO COLE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2006

I have atteneded cole for both 7th and 8th. I personally think its the best in the state. The expectations from the teachers are set high but nothing that we cant handle. If you move to EG I highly seguest sending them to cole because all the kids in both 7th and 8th are really nice and so are the teacher. There is no way that anyone wont fit in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2005

I have attended Cole for both seventh and eighth grade and it is the best school that I have ever been to! It is an enviting and comfortable environment that encourages learning. The teachers are fast paced and absolutely love what they do. The standards are higher than in other schools in the state and children are expected to meet them. Kids who are having dificulties can see their teachers before or after school for extra help, but the resposiblity for comming is given to the child. There are many fun after school activities and sports programs (both intramural and varsity) that kids are encouraged to participate in. Many after school activities are award winning. The mock trial team has won compitition at the state level for the past five years! I would encourage any parent to send their child to Cole. You wont regret it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latino67%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged students39%
Not economically disadvantaged students86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latino83%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged students50%
Not economically disadvantaged students94%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students82%
Female76%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Not economically disadvantaged students83%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%

Reading

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Not economically disadvantaged students96%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

Writing

All Students93%
Female98%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged studentsn/a
Not economically disadvantaged students97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 65%
Hispanic 7% 21%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Cedar Ave
East Greenwich, RI 02818
Phone: (401) 398-1213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rocky Hill School
East Greenwich, RI


Davisville Middle School
North Kingstown, RI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT