Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-6
Public
Exeter, RI
Students enrolled: 510
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Metcalf School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
My children have been very happy there. There is a good balance between the focus on academincs and support and guidance for personal and social health and well-being. Teachers take a personal interest in my children's success and engage with me as a parent very well if there are ever any issues or concerns.

Metcalf School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to Metcalf school and is in fifth grade. Not only does she love it, she is doing quite well. Her teacher, Mrs. Millar is an outstanding teacher. We love everything about Metcalf. The Necap scores indicate that our school does above average in all academic areas. There are plenty of interesting after school activities. The Exeter/West Greenwich communities are very involved and proud of their schools, and it shows in the quality of their students.


Metcalf School 5

Posted March 16, 2014
- a teacher
Metcalf is a great place. The school offers challenging academics, a wide range of extra-curricular activities and most importantly a safe, nurturing environment. Across the board, teachers are passionate about their jobs and work hard to try encourage students to be as passionate about their learning. The PTA works closely with the school's family engagement team to provide opportunities for everyone to have fun and actively engage in the educational process. The arts have a central place at Metcalf. Time is included in the school day for integrated arts and band instruction.

Metcalf School 4

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
My child LOVES going to school every day, which to me is a great indicator of the school's quality. The work is challenging, her teacher is very engaged and enthusiastic even after 25 years of teaching, and the school is well maintained. She particularly loves her specials - both music and art have fabulous teachers with lots of creativity. An outreach committee of parents and teachers meets regularly to talk about way to continue making the school a place where all are comfortable and engaged. Keep it up!

Metcalf School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a teacher
Metcalf School is a wonderful public school where the goal is to treat every child with respect and as an individual. In addition to achieving high state test scores, teachers go above and beyond to meet the needs and interests of their students. The specialists, such as art, music, library, PE and health help children find their strengths so they can shine! The staff tirelessly works on multiple strategies to engage families and to keep the line of communication open between home and school. It is truly a wonderful, caring, and upbeat learning community.


Metcalf School 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
We were very happy with Metcalf Elementary School. The teachers encourage parental involvement and there was never any lack of communication between the parents and the teachers. The curriculum was reasonably challenging, and there were many optional extra curricular activities that we took advantage of in order to allow our child to explore his interests. I would really recommend this school if you love being involved in your child's education!

Metcalf School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Metcalf School 1

Posted June 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Metcalf School 3

Posted September 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Metcalf School 0
no rating

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
i agree with the last comment. If you were not born into or tied into the community by being related to somebody your kids are 'toast'. There is very little accomodation for kids of single parents who are working. The teachers make comments to kids whose parents can't be there during the day hours and it is destructive to their self esteem. I am very disappointed and also have problems with my child being bullied by teachers...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Metcalf School
30 Nooseneck Hill Rd, Exeter, RI  02822
(401) 397-3375
Last modified Metcalf School is a Public school that serves grades 3-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Metcalf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top