Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Nuweetooun School

Private | K-1, 3-4, 6, 8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Exeter

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2010

Nuweetooun School is an amazing, nurturing environment for students of all backgrounds to learn in a way that best suits them. I am amazed at what the school has accomplished and the beautiful work the students are doing there.


Posted October 30, 2009

the home school environment and the family atmosphere .All the children learn to respect and work with different age groups.Learn about their heritage along with others.My son has come along way since attending this school. They also try to accommodate family's with financial hardships by fund raising through out the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My Grandson just started at this school and he is making miraculous progress. He likes to go to school and is learning quicker than I ever expected. He's in Kindergarten and gets two recesses a day which he needs. They also study earth science by taking field trips and really examining the environment around them. I think the school offers structure but not at the expense of creativity. He was quickly washing out of Public School. I was dismayed at the attitude that pervades a lot of the Public schools now. I think that Lauren Spears has hit upon a good formula that promotes academic achievement but never at the expense of the individual. She's got it right!


Posted October 20, 2009

Ms Spears dedication to children and culture, and her skills and enthusiasm as an educator, make this an afffirming and positive educational and growth experience for Native children. Particularly significant as our children suffer from the highest dropout rates in the US in many 'standard' public school settings. Bless her work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

This is a wonderful school teaching not only the basics, but is culturally appropriate for Native American students. It teaches Native culture and pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Loren Spears had a vision that she carried out not only for her children, but for all children as well... Her dedication and love for each individual child, teaching them, supporting them, believing in them to be the best that they can be, has certainly been witnessed throughout the beginning of her dream. It has been a privilege and an honor for my son to attend Nuweetooun School, watching his growth, his desire to want to learn - becoming more and more confident in his journey along the way. Nuweetooun has so much to offer the children, from our traditional culture, in ways of learning, intergrated with the current ways of learning today. Valuable lessons to say the least. It is all hand in hand!!! We are truly blessed to have the love and desire for greatness, (for our children) from Loren, the staff members, the Founders of Tomaquag Museum and I must not leave out the parents in recognizing the vision, this great school, NUWEETOOUN and coming together in unity! Thank you Great Spirit for all involved, may Nuweetooun School continue to flourish academically, traditionally, creatively and with love...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Great school! Helps our Native children to stay proud of their heritage, gain self esteem and to learn of other cultures. The children learn the tribal language as well as traditional games, songs, dance, drumming and flute playing. They learn academics in an interactive setting. I am so proud of Loren Spears, Nuweetooun Director, for fulfilling her dream and offering this school to our tribal community as well as the outside communities. Thank you Loren, keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

It offers children an oppurtunity to have a more interactive learning environment.


Posted September 22, 2009

Nuweetooun School is the only all Native school in RI.


Posted September 22, 2009

Nuweetooun school is a wonderful nurturing environment for Native students. When I taught in the Ethnic Studies dept at Brown Univ, and in the Anthro/Soc dept at URI, my students would go down and volunteer at the school, and they always had a wonderful experience with the students and instructors at Nuweetooun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Lovely to have a school where this nation's first people incorporate their culture into the curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It has a great independent spirit with a strong commitment to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Nuweetooun School not only gives our children a good education, it also teaches them about our Native American heritage and our language, which I believe is very important. Our children, grandchildren, friend's children and relatives are our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The school provides more one on one for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The one on one classroom attention is providing our future leaders with the tools encouragement and education to excel beyond all expectations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It is the Only school in our state that truly teaches our Children the ways of our ancestors


Posted September 20, 2009

Loren worked incredibly hard to build her school almost single handidly.She has given Native students an opportunity to learn their language,song,dance and so many other things native to themselves along with the everyday accademics which are learned in public schools.More importantly be proud of who you are.Lauren goes so far out on a limb to bring these children the best knowledge she can.Also the individual attention each student gets is incredible.Nia:wen Kowa Lauren
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

We love this school because they love kids, help all, and have alot of hand-on activities. Also they love the community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The school has a dedicated staff, talented students, and needs help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

My children went to a number of schools.And I must admit this school is the best school!Mrs.Spears took the time and do a one on one with my children to get them all caught up to wear they need to be.And I just want to say Thank you so much to all the Nuweetooun teacher's Mr.Red Shirt.Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
American Indian/Alaska Native 100% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Black 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 19%
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 67%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

390 Summit Rd
Exeter, RI 02822
Phone: (401) 491-9063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Metcalf School
Exeter, RI



Meadowbrook School
West Greenwich, RI


Wawaloam School
Exeter, RI


The R.Y.S.E School
Wood River Junction, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT