Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nuweetooun School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a community member
Nuweetooun School is an amazing, nurturing environment for students of all backgrounds to learn in a way that best suits them. I am amazed at what the school has accomplished and the beautiful work the students are doing there.

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
the home school environment and the family atmosphere .All the children learn to respect and work with different age groups.Learn about their heritage along with others.My son has come along way since attending this school. They also try to accommodate family's with financial hardships by fund raising through out the year.


Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a community member
My Grandson just started at this school and he is making miraculous progress. He likes to go to school and is learning quicker than I ever expected. He's in Kindergarten and gets two recesses a day which he needs. They also study earth science by taking field trips and really examining the environment around them. I think the school offers structure but not at the expense of creativity. He was quickly washing out of Public School. I was dismayed at the attitude that pervades a lot of the Public schools now. I think that Lauren Spears has hit upon a good formula that promotes academic achievement but never at the expense of the individual. She's got it right!

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a teacher
Ms Spears dedication to children and culture, and her skills and enthusiasm as an educator, make this an afffirming and positive educational and growth experience for Native children. Particularly significant as our children suffer from the highest dropout rates in the US in many 'standard' public school settings. Bless her work.

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school teaching not only the basics, but is culturally appropriate for Native American students. It teaches Native culture and pride.


Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Loren Spears had a vision that she carried out not only for her children, but for all children as well... Her dedication and love for each individual child, teaching them, supporting them, believing in them to be the best that they can be, has certainly been witnessed throughout the beginning of her dream. It has been a privilege and an honor for my son to attend Nuweetooun School, watching his growth, his desire to want to learn - becoming more and more confident in his journey along the way. Nuweetooun has so much to offer the children, from our traditional culture, in ways of learning, intergrated with the current ways of learning today. Valuable lessons to say the least. It is all hand in hand!!! We are truly blessed to have the love and desire for greatness, (for our children) from Loren, the staff members, the Founders of Tomaquag Museum and I must not leave out the parents in recognizing the vision, this great school, NUWEETOOUN and coming together in unity! Thank you Great Spirit for all involved, may Nuweetooun School continue to flourish academically, traditionally, creatively and with love...

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Great school! Helps our Native children to stay proud of their heritage, gain self esteem and to learn of other cultures. The children learn the tribal language as well as traditional games, songs, dance, drumming and flute playing. They learn academics in an interactive setting. I am so proud of Loren Spears, Nuweetooun Director, for fulfilling her dream and offering this school to our tribal community as well as the outside communities. Thank you Loren, keep up the great work.

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a community member
It offers children an oppurtunity to have a more interactive learning environment.


Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a community member
Nuweetooun School is the only all Native school in RI.

Nuweetooun School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Nuweetooun school is a wonderful nurturing environment for Native students. When I taught in the Ethnic Studies dept at Brown Univ, and in the Anthro/Soc dept at URI, my students would go down and volunteer at the school, and they always had a wonderful experience with the students and instructors at Nuweetooun

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nuweetooun School
390 Summit Rd, Exeter, RI  02822
(401) 491-9063
Last modified Nuweetooun School is a Private school that serves grades K-1, 3-4, 6, 8
Nuweetooun School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top