Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jamestown School-Melrose 5

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
We love Jamestown School. The principal is at all events and obviously cares about the kids. Most teachers are wonderful, but as is true anywhere, you need to find the right fit for your child. Some of the aides are cranky, but Mrs. Minus is an angel sent from heaven. :) Academically, they score very well on the standards testing, but could be reaching higher, offering more (e.g., foreign language, programming) to compete with the number of private schools on Aquidneck Island. Overall, a solid school in a charming town.

Jamestown School-Melrose
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to the Principal, Mrs. Peterson, for setting the tone at this school, hiring the right teachers and creating the student-centered, supportive culture. Every teacher I have encountered is dedicated to their profession and their "kids."


Jamestown School-Melrose
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
I have had both kids in Jamestown's Prek, and K-1, and my oldest also in grades 2-4, so I have 9 kid years of experience with Jamestown. The teachers have been excellent in developing a relationship with my children and working to meet their individual needs, both emotionally and academically.

Jamestown School-Melrose
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
While I understand the need for homework, and even expect to see it, I believe that 6-7 hours of school per day is enough. Kids need a break - time to be kids. Jamestown teachers seem to understand this, as well. Homework from grades 1-4 always includes reading 20 minutes, and a review of math or social studies concepts. Never more than 1 hour - usually more like 30 minutes, depending upon how well your child focuses and gets it done.

Jamestown School-Melrose
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Jamestown Melrose has a "wolf paw" system for encouraging kids to do the right thing. Kids can get wolf paws for listening quietly, showing respect, helping friends, basically anything good that isn't graded! The kids love to bring home wolf paws, and the more they get, the better their chances of winning a prize in the special drawings.


Jamestown School-Melrose 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful hands on and all hands in school, the teachers are caring and pay individual attention. Our boy is heard and happy. We enjoy helping and participating in our sons school life, (( melrose )) is very welcoming to the students and the parents

Jamestown School-Melrose 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
Melrose school is full of the sweetest, smartest hard working teachers and caring staff. I have three kids in this school and all are happy, active and learning appropriately (I'm a former Massachusetts public school teacher, certified grades 5-12). We randomly found Jamestown when my husband was previously stationed in Nwpt, and this time, we elected to buy a home and hopefully retire from the military and become Jamestowners. Our kids already consider themselves "from" here. This town is Mecca for outgoing, kind, positive and successful people. If you can afford to live here, do.

Jamestown School-Melrose 5

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
Melrose is an excellent small town public school. As a military member with a special needs child (autism), the Melrose staff and the special education staff was more than happy to do whatever we needed to get the help we needed. By far one of the best public school experiences we've had in the country. The preschool is only half day and appeared to us as more play oriented rather than academic, but being able to have both children at the same school was a definite bonus.


Jamestown School-Melrose 5

Posted December 22, 2009
- a parent
Enthusiastic teachers, responsive administration, safe environment, student differentiation, good extra-curricular activities, great parent involvement. A top-notch elementary school. My sons attend kindergarten and 2nd grade there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jamestown School-Melrose
76 Melrose Ave, Jamestown, RI  02835
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (401) 423-7020
Last modified Jamestown School-Melrose is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top