Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
2 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winsor Hill School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Aiello for always going above and beyond for her students. She encourages them to be their very best students and citizens inside and outside the classroom. My daughter has thrived under her guidance and I am so thankful that she was a part of my daughter's education in both first and fifth grade!

Winsor Hill School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
I would say effective but need to motivate and challenge the students who are excelling.


Winsor Hill School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
My student finishes it at school there is no homework only reading at home. I disagree with hours of homework but a least 30-40 minutes.

Winsor Hill School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Maybe for certain academically challenged students but I disagree for the average or even slightly above average student.

Winsor Hill School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
yes I have never witness any disrespect of students from the teachers in this building.


Winsor Hill School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Yes , there have been many deaths of parents of children in this school and the teachers help the student as well as the peers deal and cope with these horrific situations.

Winsor Hill School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
The teachers can try to push and motivate students more and have high expectations for all students. I don't have a problem with fairness with this school.

Winsor Hill School 2

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
I have a child who has been in this school for three years. My child was in the forth grade last year and there wasn't much learning taking place and there was absolutely no writing going on in the classroom. As a parent of an average intelligent student she has not been motivated or pushed at this school. After viewing test scores on WJAR's website yesterday, I am very disappointed with this elementary school. Why is there such a discrepancy of 30-40% difference in the test scores between Winsor Hill and Brown Ave? Any educated parent would choose Brown Ave over Winsor Hill. This is why I am leaving the town to put my child in a better school district which is fair. Disappointed tax payer and parent.


Winsor Hill School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers, great administration. I'm very satisfied with my daughter's education! the teachers are always willing to go the extra mile for their kids!

Winsor Hill School
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
I have had three children go to this school over the last 18 years . All the changes that have been made have all been for the better. Today is our last day for my youngest child and we will miss it fondly!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winsor Hill School
100 Theresa St, Johnston, RI  02919
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (401) 831-4619
Last modified Winsor Hill School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top