Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wm. M. Davies Junior Career-Technical High School

Public | 9-12 | 816 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2012

This school is better than most vocational schools. The principal, teacher, parents and students hold themselves to a higher standard. You can feel it when you walk in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

I went to Davies from 95-98 great school with alot of potential. Some really good motivated and passionate teachers and quite a few who were awful and aloud to remain awful. I had drafting one year and the teacher never tought anything. I spent the whole year doing nothing in that class. Auto body and mech reluctantly but finally joined as one shop. I had a calligraphy class and short hand/computer class that was horrible and was a waste of time and didn't learn a single practical thing!! The English teachers there were spectacular. Personal Business skills class was dry and boring.


Posted October 5, 2010

Sorry, Davies is just not a good school overall. They need to do much better with their resource department. The current resource director is completely inexperienced and has no idea what he is doing. He has no compassion for the students or desire to create solid programs to help them. Most of the teachers here just simply don't care. With the leadership in place now, I have no idea how these kids survive their 4 years at Davies. Last school within the state of RI, I would ever send my high schooler!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

Davies is a really good school. The technical areas are amazing. But the senior project seems to be killing everybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

My child goes to this school and loves it. She loves the friends she made, the sports she plays, and her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

My daughter has just finished her first year at Davies. I really like this school. I feel they really care about the success of each student. If the students shows effort - the teacher are an incredible support system. The teachers were great and helpful. I am hopeful that the next three years goes by as wonderfully. Also, my daughter stated to me several times that this is the first time she has felt that the school system actually cares about the students; not that they are there to make money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I'm not a parent, but I am a past student. I graduated in 2004. This school is great. The teachers here love to teach and the technical areas help a student strive for the future. Even though we don't have football like most other high school, our soccer and baseball teams make up for it in their intensity. We don't have art or music, but that's only becuase all our free time is put towards our shop area. All in all this school is a great place to spend 4 years. I know that when I start to have children, I want them to attend Davies.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students35%
Female30%
Male38%
Black or African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged students35%
Not economically disadvantaged students33%
Title I35%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Non-migrant35%

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged students90%
Not economically disadvantaged students93%
Title I91%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%

Writing

All Students45%
Female55%
Male38%
Black or African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged students45%
Not economically disadvantaged students46%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Non-migrant45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 65%
Hispanic 36% 21%
Black 11% 8%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Jenckes Hill Rd
Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: (401) 728-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Providence High School
North Providence, RI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT