Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carey School

Public | K-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2011

awesome school! should have stayed open longer!!!!!!! It was the best and most organized school ever!!


Posted April 1, 2009

Well first i belive the 1st parents review was written by a child not a parent, most words are spelled wrong and children do not get beat up' at carey school. We have been a carey family for 6 yrs now with 2 children enrolled there and were hoping to send my other 2 there but now with it closing we sadly can not. Thank you carey staff for a wonderful 6 yrs, we adore carey school! the schuster family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Very caring staff and great families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Absolutely outstanding school. Community and parent involvement is incredible and extracurriculars (for almost free) are amazing! We are a military family who moves alot - I've seen lots of different schools along the way, and Carey makes me want to stay here in Newport!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Wonderful school! Amazing teachers, tons of extracurricular activities and opportunities for the children and parents to be involved. The staff at Carey is very personable and seems to make everyone feel important. Highly recommended school if you are in Newport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

I'm very impressed with this school.I have 2 children with IEP's attended this school in 2004/2005.The teaher and the whole school staff was absolutely wonderful.I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

I am very pleased with my 4th grader's education at Carey Elementary School. She has an excellent teacher with strong classroom management skills. He has recognized the need to differientiate curriculum in the classroom and meets the needs of a variety of students needs in the classroom. The curriculum has been compacted to challenge my daughter and provide her with the challenges that she needs. The overall atmosphere of the school is very caring and community oriented. There are a wide variety of afterschool enrichment activities that set the stage for a very positive school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

My two children have attendedCarey Elementary for less than one year (we are military), and I have been extremely pleased with the school. The teachers are caring, the staff is friendly and they have made us feel welcome. Yes, the curriculum is not the most challenging for an above average child, but I think that is more of an issue for Rhode Island and its standard of learning than the fault of Carey school. With that said, Carey has an amazing program for extracurricular activities. There is an art teacher, a music teacher, a p.e. teacher... and a fabulous after school program where the kids can take classes in craft making, martial arts, space exploration, to name a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

Carey school has been a wondeful experience for our 3 daughters. Moving in the middle of the year, the Teachers and children accepted them right away. The Principal and office staff remebered their names and our names from the very first meeting. No accelerated learning, but they are on track for their grade level. Lots of after school programs offered; math, Tae kwan do, science, dance. Lots of one on one from the teachers due to the small class room size. We came from a large E. school, 600 student, so 200 students is like a private school for us. Lacking in Parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32 Narragansett Ave
Newport, RI 02840
Phone: (401) 847-1690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cluny School
Newport, RI



Coggeshall School
Newport, RI


Aquidneck School
Middletown, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT