Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Edward Ricci School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2012

My son transferred from Pawtucket schools to Ricci in 2011. He was shy and had alittle bit of a tough time but with the teachers, principal, and vice principals help he was able to adjust and move on to high school. The vice principal went above and beyond, thank you!!! His Math teacher Ms. Fiero was so pleasantly helpful, didn't matter what or how she worked and worked to try and make sure my son understood. Everyone was really great!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

This School is great!!! The teachers are wonderful and so is the principal!!! Great Leadership!! Love this school!!!


Posted June 3, 2011

Overall I like the school, Principal and teachers. I have two grand children that are in 6th and 7th grade. I find a lack of involvement by the parents at the school, I have been trying to get the PTC active by participating myself as I see this as a great way to foster a better local educational effort for our children and connecting with the teachers. The school system in NP and for that matter RI is not functioning for the betterment of the students, that;s another story but it amplifies the need for parents to be involved with their school and their kids to get the most value for them. My goal is to contribute anyway I can to make Ricci the best school for my grand kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I am very disappointed with this school. Ricci school only likes parent involvement if it benefits them. They do not like when a parent has a concern. Some of the teachers and the secretaries are wonderful; however, the hurt and discrimintaion my children felt in this school, from the principle and other members of the faculty, will be with them for the rest of their lives. It would be beneficial to the students at Ricci school if the faculty was mandated to successfully complete a course on cultural sensitivity. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

My son was a new student at Ricci Middle this year. As we approach the near end of the school year I can confidently say that I am pleased with the school and the administration. We came from a very well respected school district with ratings in the top of the nation. Based on numbers alone, I was very skeptical that Ricci would be able to compare. However, my son seems to be thriving academically, he's made friends with numerous nice, well behaved kids and the school has impressed me with the dances and other activities throughout the year. I am very pleased thus far with my son's progress and the school as a whole. I do wish they'd provide a calender of some sort and they would develop a website for the middle school. Enrolling in school over the summer was quite a chore, and difficult to reach anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

My son is in the sixth grade at Ricci and he is doing very well. I am very impressed with the communication and response I have had with his teachers and Principle. They seem to encourage parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

i think ricci is ok. notg the greatest but its okkay
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

I think Ricci Middle School is the best middle school in the world!!!! I love Ricci Middle School!!!!


Posted November 23, 2008

this school is by far the worse school my son has ever gone to when he was in this school he got d's and f's and got suspended 7 times then he went to birch wood and he got a' b's and c's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This school is awesommmeee!! The teachers are great and the principal is even greater! They could have more dances like Birchwood though but still its an awesome school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

I think this school is wonderful! The principle is very sweet. The vending machines are very good to have and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2007

Ricci is a very nice school and if that was all I rated this one I would give it a five. A aggree with everything the other parents have said but none of them said the following. The school is nice but most of the children are not. I suggest Dr. Edward A. Ricci Middle School watch their children. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

Ricci is a great middle school and my child has done very well there. The teachers work hard on developing new plans to help your child succeed. Unfortunately many parents need to realize that Ricci parents only have your child 180 days a year. What the parents do the other 185 days makes the difference. I wish Ricci had more extracurricular activities and dances but as far as education I think it does very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My child is in the special education class at Ricci. She had a wonderful teacher last year but she is no longer there. I have noticed a big difference in my child's behavior compared to last year. I think she made a big difference in my child's life. It just goes to show, some teachers really have an impact!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

Ricci has changed over the last few years,but it's not all good... first of they do have talent shows, but they don't have any more than one dance a year! They also have a new program ZAP (zeros aren't permitted)which is good, but I think that if kids know that they can just make it up after school, and the school will give them all of the supplies, won't they take advantage of it??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

I'm sorry but this school is terrible. my child is picked on everyday of the week. I try to talk to the principal, teacher, and guidance councilor and nothing has been said. I am greatly disappointed with this school. I think the fact that ms. Hines tells the Riccio middle school students that its a high reforming school. You can see yourself by these parental ratings that it well isn't a high reforming school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

this school has no spirit at all. they have very limited resources. the principal is a worry ward. the school is very dirty, the janitor does not clean at all. the school and there no tolerance disiplin policy is more of a joke than comedy central. and the special ed students are made fun of and the teachers make them feel emotionally uncomfortable i will add more later
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2006

I think Ms. Hines has made Ricci School much more of a success. The school has improved 100% since she becamed the principal. Thank you Ms. Hines for caring about our children! My children have been in the school since kindergarden and I have seen the amazing improvements to the school through the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2005

This has got to be one of the worst schools ever! I cannot get over the way the children are treated. If the lunchroom is noisy, all of the children pay the price. Silent lunches, no vending machines, etc. Once, when the lunchroom was noisy, the children were not allowed locker privilidges for the day and had to carry around very heavy backpacks all day long. How ridiculous is that? To me that is child abuse. They have no sympathy for children with special needs. The prinicpal is a poor excuse for the word principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

I agree with the other reviews. There is no disciplinary action taken when necessary. I've been to the school several times. I spoke with the teacher, the guidance counseler, and the principal and still no results. My problem is a litte different though. My problem is with one of the teachers. Although there has been several known complaints about this teacher, I have yet to here of or see any results regarding this teacher. I've even tried to contact the superintendent. It's obvious to me that not one of them seems to be concerned about this problem. This problem is affecting my childs school work and his outlook on school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
13%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students49%
Female58%
Male39%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged students34%
Not economically disadvantaged students61%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Non-migrant49%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female73%
Male52%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged students57%
Not economically disadvantaged students67%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students44%
Female37%
Male50%
Black or African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged students39%
Not economically disadvantaged students49%
Title I0%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Non-migrant44%

Reading

All Students76%
Female84%
Male67%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged students72%
Not economically disadvantaged students80%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students46%
Female45%
Male46%
Black or African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged students28%
Not economically disadvantaged students60%
Title I0%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant46%

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male71%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged students70%
Not economically disadvantaged students86%
Title I30%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

Writing

All Students68%
Female76%
Male60%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged students58%
Not economically disadvantaged students77%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 64%
Hispanic 13% 22%
Black 9% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 Intervale Ave
North Providence, RI 02911
Phone: (401) 233-1170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

George N Hunt Campus School
North Providence, RI



St Augustine School
Providence, RI


La Salle Academy
Providence, RI


Birchwood Middle School
North Providence, RI


Sophia Academy
Providence, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT