Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Providence High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2010

my daughter has iep and they have a great program to meet her needs and they work with me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

i didnt really like this school im a freshmen this year n i left in the 3rd quarter. every1 tells people that it is a great school and everything but sadly its not. every student in there has a ton of drama no matter what. teachers are very easy to fool, u can get away with almost anything. every1 uses their phones and they never get caught. the lunches are good sometimes but they are always packed. n since the lunches are packed a lot of students just take a lunch n not pay for it. some teachers are good with teaching but others shouldnt even be teachers. alot o teachers will just sit with the kids n just talk 2 them the whole class. a ton of people just walk out of the school so they wont hav 2 go 2 class and no1 would ever no.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2009

I am currently a junior and i must say, North Providence High has high expectations for all the students and sometimes its overwhelming but like me starting off in high school wasn't so great, I never wanted to go to school and I slacked off but when I came to North Providence High that all changed. I felt welcomed and wanted to learn more, they showed me that if I believe in myself I could do anything I put my mind to!!! That goes to show you that with the right attitude and right environment or community you can find the unexpected!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2008

when i was a freshman this school was way too big. i got lost almost every day for the whole first month and i got detention cuz i was confuzed! aside from that most of the tchrs r nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

So far not impressed after Freshman yr. Right off the bat , school pictures a total disaster, reports cards come weeks after the next quarter has started. Some teachers do not return calls in a timely fashion. If you need assistance do call the office! The left hand has no clue what the right is doing is my opinion. I can say thought the vice principal, Kristen McLaughlin. EXCELLENT. Guidance counselor, Mr. Bianco, very helpful and returns call in a timely fashion! So far that is all I can say, three moreyears with one and 2 more on the way, hopefully things will be better or i will not set my expectations so high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

I am extremely pleased with this school. Why?? Because my son is very happy there. He looks forward to going to school. The teachers are unbelieveably the best! The brotherhood, sisterhood, the comrodity makes me want to become a teacher and represent North Providence High too! Not only do the teachers excel in their teachings to students. Their very positive attitudes and loving their job really shows and who wins through this..The students of course! To want to learn, to want to be there, having positive attitudes, and to love their school is what North Providence High is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

This is a very good school. I am, however, concerned about the lack of attention given to music and arts. This school only has one music teacher that teaches the beginning band, wind ensemble, choir, chorus and jazz band. If there were more music teachers and better support from the school community, the music students will produce better music and the school music department may receive more attention and respect from the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2007

i am currently a junior at NPHS, and i must say it is a good school. However, certain issues are not dealt with properly. most of the teachers are great, and if your a good kid you will make friends easily.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2007

As a parent of a senior and freshman at NP High, I feel that they have and continue to be academically challenged every day. The senior project could be coordinated a little better, but overall, I believe most of the teachers work hard to give our children a better education. I don't think they could do any better at a private school. Mr. Goho has done a good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

My child attends this school and I see it as one of the best schools in terms of what it has to offer. Although the school is dedicated mostly to sports, it does offer other activities. The teachers vary and it is likely your child will receive a balanced number of great and strict teacher. Aside this info, the school has a lack of upholding its rules, focusing more on things that do not need focus. If your child is well-rounded, they will do fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I am currently a junior at this school and would like to say that NPHS is a great school. There's tons of team spirit for the seemingly endless number of sports teams, and plenty of other extracurricular activities to choose from that aren't sports. The teachers are amazing and will go out of their way to help any student that asks for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2006

This School Is Awesome!!! It's a very good educating, nurturing, academically challenging, environment. And I really would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

In order to get from one class to another, you have to be a running back(a football player, in case you didn't know) and barge through people. I wrestled for four years ad it taught me so much about life and teamwork and work ethic, which enriched my school work. In the end, your child will decide their own involvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2006

In response to the comment below regarding lockdowns, id like to give my opinion. I was a senior last year at NPH and the whole idea of lockdown was essential. Students have plenty of time to get to their classes before lockdown. The ones who get 'locked out' are the students who block the hallway for other students who try and get to class. They are usually the students who chit chat more than they should. And the schools not that big. It takes a good 30 seconds to get from one end to the other and the students are given 4 minutes in-between classes. So for those who get locked out, its their own fault for not being responsible really.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2006

North Providence High School is an exceptional learning facility. They provide an excellent education and preparation for college. My daughter is a graduate of North Providence High School and is in a 4 year college doing very well. I thought of placing her in a private catholic school at first and then read excellent thing about the High School in the newspaper and thought I would have her try it. They started this program call Senior Project. North Providence High School is used as a model High School for the country on Senior Project. I must say that by choosing North Providence not only did I save quite a bit of money but I feel she received a much better education compared to her friends who attended the Private Catholic Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

As a parent,I recently experienced a situation at the high school that I believe is uncalled for. The school calls this behavior 'Lockdown or Lock out,' I still trying to get the correct terminology. But it has students scurring to get to their class with the potential of getting trampled over. I was questioning this,is this a 'correctional facility or a high school.' This behavior has no real means of validity that I can see. There are other means of dealing with late to class students than 'Lock out' I just hope no one gets hurt running thru the corridors attempting to make their class on time before getting 'Locked Out' In addition, the leadership really needs to practice what they preach/ AS for this parent, it's a lot of smoke and showmanship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

I am a senior at nph and I think the teachers there are great. They want to make sure every last one of us graduates! I know this personally. I think the school as a whole is good, a little strict but good. Im not to keen on any of the principals... They are really selective when it comes to students. I dont think students should be kept from any of there proms bc they have been late to school to many times, as long as there achieving passing grades, I think it should be ok, but i do think they have our best interest at hand.. Just a lil too strict (: `nph senior
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2005

The 'teachers' at NP High have been exceptional with my daugher. The administration - principal and vice principal leave a lot to be desired. Calls are not returned, very unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

NPHS is overall a good school , but some of the issue's that could be handle are not. but the teachers are great with the kids! its a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2005

I attend NPHS and I like most of my teachers. But the vice principals and principal dont handle issues straigh foward. There are constantly fights going on in school, kids always smoking in bathrooms, ditching school, and all that happens is the staff ignores it or the kids get TLC(in house suspension). Issues are not dealt with head on, and they should improve that. Other than that most of the students and teachers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students34%
Female34%
Male34%
Black or African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged students36%
Not economically disadvantaged students34%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Non-migrant34%

Reading

All Students83%
Female90%
Male77%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged students75%
Not economically disadvantaged students87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant83%

Writing

All Students67%
Female76%
Male60%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged students65%
Not economically disadvantaged students69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 64%
Hispanic 16% 22%
Black 8% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Birchwood Middle School
Dr. E.A. Ricci Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Full NEASC Accreditation (2005)
  • National Senior Project Certification (2005)
  • Successful RIDE SALT Visitation (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35am
School end time
  • 1:55am
School Leader's name
  • Joseph B. Goho
Fax number
  • (401) 233-1166

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parent organizations, school improvement team
More from this school
  • Please visit our school website for more information.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Birchwood Middle School
Dr. E.A. Ricci Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rhode Island College
University of Rhode Island
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1828 Mineral Spring Ave
North Providence, RI 02904
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 233-1150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

George N Hunt Campus School
North Providence, RI



E-Cubed Academy
Providence, RI


La Salle Academy
Providence, RI


Birch Vocational
Providence, RI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT