Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
255 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Cecilia School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to the parents for having a decent network and relying on each other to get everything done for the kids. I wonder if the education they are getting at this school is really worth all this time and money.

St Cecilia School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
They simply don't have the time to care about each individual student. Or the time to communicate properly with parents. When you use children as a liason for the school, a lot of things are bound to be missed or forgotten. Kids are kids; and even though middle school students are supposed to be learning to become more responsible, sometimes they still are not - because they are KIDS. There needs to be more communication directly to parents instead of relying on kids. Add to this that some of the staff are typical holier-than-thou or judgemental Catholics, while others are just more laissez-faire about the students, and it's not good.


St Cecilia School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
The school does not develop these, rather, they heap work upon the parents and expect the children to be the liasons between parent and school. The children may see their own parents showing persistence, grit, and determination in handling St. Cecilia's, though.

St Cecilia School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Kids will be kids, and there are nearly as many cliques and bullies at this school as there are at any other.

St Cecilia School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Again, the religious education program at the school does have an influence on these factors.


St Cecilia School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
It is a Catholic school, so at least they have religion class and teach some things from the Bible. This is where the school does manage to develop some honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students.

St Cecilia School 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Grade school at St. Cecilia's is not so bad because the teachers have more time for their work, but the middle school teachers are the SAME five teachers for all of 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. They very much are phoning it in. Very little communication between staff and parents. I wonder often where my $5000 a year is going. Not to mention there is a fundraiser every month and the parents do most of the work of anything other than actually teaching. No playground, extracurriculars are very limited, the itinerant classes are extremely limited, except for music. I do not recommend.

St Cecilia School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
My son is currently enrolled in the Pre-K program with Mrs. Machado. We ABSOLUTELY love it there!! She is BEYOND amazing and takes every extra step to make sure my child succeeds. I trust her completely with my child, which says a lot. The program she runs is how I picture a Pre-K program, full of learning with lots of crafts, active play, and a loving teacher. I recommend her every chance I get. You will not regret having Mrs. Machado in your child's life.


St Cecilia School 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Terrible. Uninspired and not effective. There are cliques among students, parents, and staff. There are some stellar teachers, but most are mailing it in. Down-hill after Pre-k and k. Take your kids and run. Used to be an establishment with transparency and communication and values, but that was a long time ago.

St Cecilia School 1

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
I sent you daughter to this school for 3rd grade not only did they not move forward with the IEP form her previous school but they didn't do anything to let me know she had gone past the point of failure. I was forced to remove my child from the school in order for her to receive all the assistance that is needed to help her progress. The school not only tried to tell me they would not send the paper work to the new school until all the years tuition was paid but then gave an added amount of money owed. among other issues such as teachers and facility quitting in the middle of the school year without notice. This school is terrible and they are not good catholic people they are a scam !

Nearby schools

St Cecilia School
755 Central Avenue, Pawtucket, RI  02861
(401) 723-9463
Last modified St Cecilia School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top