Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Portsmouth High School 2

Posted April 24, 2016
- a student
Teachers and administration care more about standardized test result boasting than they do about individual students success and development

Portsmouth High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a student
Students hate attending the school, if it weren't for the friendships the student body has built in the years prior to high school, PHS would be a school with zero compassion


Portsmouth High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a student
Teachers go out of their way to get students the most punishment possible. In addition, they have a skewed view on disciplinary actions and commonly let bias allow students to get away with missing work and get other privileges not given to others

Portsmouth High School 1

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
If you are military dont expect them to put out the welcome mat. I observed teachers specifically targeting the "new" kids.

Portsmouth High School 1

Posted February 15, 2011
- a student
this school sux so bad i hate it here everyone else hates it to seriously it sux the teachers are terrible they obviously hate me and they pick favorites... i am very angry


Portsmouth High School 3

Posted March 23, 2008
- a student
I graduated in 2005. This school is on a downward turn do to lack of funding and increasing class sizes as well as changes in guidance counseling.

Portsmouth High School 5

Posted February 06, 2005
- a student
I graduated with the class of 2002. Great programs for arts and sports. Teachers were pleasant. I had some of the best years of my life at PHS.

Portsmouth High School 4

Posted December 27, 2004
- a parent
I attended PHS (graduate 1992). At the time, I thought it was horribly run. Looking back, if I had children, I would move back to Portsmouth just so they could go to PHS.


Portsmouth High School 4

Posted November 18, 2004
- a parent
With all 6 of my siblings and myself graduating from Portsmouth High School, I now have two children of my own attending. It is an excellent school. The block scheduling allows a much more thourough class, and children have an extra night to work on those extra homework assignments. Guidance is a step behind, however. For juniors and seniors, their guidance counselor has now taken the role of a college counselor. In high school, these kids need the accessability of both. Overall, I would recommend any parent to send their children to Portsmouth High, without a doubt!

Portsmouth High School 3

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
Good school for those students with higher intellectual ability, however there are few to no programs or support in place for those students with IEPs or marginal academic needs. Support from Guidence personal is extremely lacking, however upper management personal are very helpful. The school is clean and welcoming.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Portsmouth High School
Education Ln, Portsmouth, RI  02871
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (401) 683-2124
Last modified Portsmouth High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top