Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Portsmouth Middle School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Portsmouth's elementary schools are excellent; and that's about it. It goes down hill pretty quickly after that. They have 4th and 5th graders in the Middle School and that is just awful. There is a lack of extracurricular activities in this school. In addition, the teachers and staff are rather distant and unwelcoming. We have seen other school systems are we are unimpressed by Portsmouth Middleschoo and its staff.

Portsmouth Middle School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter had a wonderful experience at the Portsmouth Middle School. She is currently a sophmore at PHS and PMS prepared her well, both academically and behaviorially. She was challenged academically and the rules and consequences were clear and fair. She was givien the opportunity to have classes in many 'special' areas such as: computer graphics, ceramics, cooking, and wood shop just to name a few. Well done PMS!


Portsmouth Middle School 1

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and I am a teacher in Portsmouth. I find the faculty and administration to be unsupportive and uncooperative. Extra curricular activities are lacking and academic areas need to be upgraded.

Portsmouth Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children in PMS. Although we have been disappointed in the extra curricular activities; sports options are limited (please bring in field hockey for girls!) and the music program is not comprehensive (but at least there is one!), PMS has managed to keep some options open, as well as having a late bus for kids to stay after for extra help since all of my kids' teachers have been available for extra help. I am satisfied, but more importantly my children like the school and their options.

Portsmouth Middle School 1

Posted February 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Portsmouth Middle School 4

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Portsmouth Middle School 5

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Portsmouth Middle School 1

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Portsmouth Middle School 1

Posted November 02, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Portsmouth Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Portsmouth Middle School
125 Jepson Ln, Portsmouth, RI  02871
(401) 849-3700
Last modified Portsmouth Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Portsmouth Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top