Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Aquidneck Island Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 53 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portsmouth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $321,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

Outstanding, a blessing for my whole family! That is how happy we are to be part of the AICA family. We have tried multiple public and private schools and even moved to a different town in search for a school for our three boys. This is the one school that we are very satisfied with. My children also LOVE it here. They actually look forward to going to school! Also, their grades have improved greatly. We would highly recommend AICA to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

This is the second year my child has been at AICA. Since attending this school his grades have improved drastically. Being in a classroom with fewer children he is able to get the help in areas where he needs it the most. I have also enjoyed our time here because it is like a close knit family and his faith in God is growing more, and more each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

This is the 14th year I have had children attending AICA. My 2 oldest have graduated from AICA and are now in college. I am continuing to see the blessings/benefits of education at AICA. My children have been prepared spiritually and academically for college. I am seeing excellence in their reading comprehension, verbal and written communication, and research skills. They are also standing strong in their faith, for which I am very grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

Having my children attend AICA has not only edified my children but has been of true benefit to our whole family. It is wonderful to know that the things my husband and I hold so dear are dear to AICA as well. The education my children are receiving is certainly one that both my husband and I wish we had received. I thank God for AICA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I am a parent who has enrolled my son at AICA from homeschooling. It has been an outstanding experience for him and for us as a family. The community is welcoming and kind. The staff has cared for my son, not just academically, but that his character would grow in godliness. I would highly recommend AICA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

I have now had my children enrolled at AICA for 4 years. What an amazing school experience for them. Not only are they receiving strong Biblical teaching, but the nationwide test scores blow many other private schools out of the water. Check out their website to see the testing scores. Would highly recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

This school is run by a self-serving headmaster and students are penalized if they do not fit into a Calvanistic mold. Discipline is lacking. We realized after we took our children out and moved them to another school that the academics are also lacking. Our children are very bright but still had to play catch up for 2 years at another school. It is a shame that God would provide for a school in this area and poor leadership would make it undesirable for most Christian families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

AICA is a classical Christian school with a vision for raising up godly students who know how and desire to learn. Glorifying God is central to all that is done. The students are nurtured and taught by a godly Headmaster and a talented staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 64%
Black 13% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (401) 849-6811

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 East Main Road
Portsmouth, RI 02871
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 849-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Pennfield School
Portsmouth, RI



Forest Avenue School
Middletown, RI


Joseph Gaudet Academy
Middletown, RI


All Saints Academy
Middletown, RI


James L Maher School
Middletown, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT