Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Classical High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Mr.Toro in Guidance, you have done miracles with my daughter Victoria and I can't even thank you enough. you went above and beyond with her and then i found out you weren't even technically her counselor!!! Thank God she has you. we will never forget what you did to help her and if my son goes there in two years I hope you are his counselor. Lori

Classical High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
they need to do a lot so when they get to college they know what to expect and are ready


Classical High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
when my daughter was feeling overwhelmed with work and the college process, her counselor brought her in and sat and talked to her and helped her with work, her teachers and went above and beyond for her.

Classical High School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
amazing staff .. i can't say enough about the wonderful experiences my daughter has had in the last four years.. she has learned skills that will help her succeed in her college years ahead. i am one proud and happy mom. and if your looking for sports look no further thy have one of the best records in the state for championship teams.. Lori .. Providence, RI

Classical High School 1

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
Not impress at all. Not the best high school in Rhode Island. Students in science are very poor because they were not given a full and extensive subject high school curriculum.


Classical High School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
The school is great. It has dedicated teachers and a diverse mix of kids. The enviorment is very welcoming and supportive. The grads get in to top colleges every year.

Classical High School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
We went to the Classical open house and orientation. We were very disappointed in what was presented by the Principal and Guidance Counselors. It came across as all about them. The worst presenter was the guidance counselor who made it sound like the students received $10 million dollars in scholarships when in reality a few students received numerous scholarships to various schools. If this is the best public school in Rhode Island, the people of Providence and Rhode Island have a very low regard for their kids education. The only department that impressed me was the science department, yet the students at Classical do very poorly in science. It appears more emphasis is placed on the humanities than on subjects such as math and science.

Classical High School 4

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Excellent academic program with amazingly caring teachers foe an urban high school. A real tradition of excellence.


Classical High School 4

Posted September 01, 2013
- a community member
It's a great school, the best public school in the state. But all of students wish that it were renovated. We don't even have air conditioners in many of the classrooms and the lockers are getting old. If we are the best, don't we deserve the best? If Central, that does poorer than us, have a beautiful school, can't we have one in return for our hard work?

Classical High School 4

Posted July 13, 2013
- a student
This school is great. It offers many APs, as well as honor courses. Most teachers are pretty understanding, and look for different ways to make sure each student understands what he/she is doing. This school also has nothing against gay people. It has a Gay Straight Alliance. It's a great example for all of the other public schools in Rhode Island. During the school year,(2012-2013), our sports teams got many recognition. This just shows that we, as students from CHS, aren't only smart but are also very athletic.

Nearby schools

Classical High School
770 Westminster St, Providence, RI  02903
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (401) 456-9145
Last modified Classical High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top