Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vartan Gregorian El. School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

What a wonderful little school. I am saddened to hear there will no longer be a pre-k program after this year. I am not sure where I will send my children. I don't think there are any schools in the city that are not private that I can feel comfortable with my children in. Sad that I no longer have a choice and will be forced to send them to a school out of my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

This school is THE WORST school you can put your kids in. The new principal (not really new) has turned the school from sorta good to horrible. The math program is just plain old bad and the teachers are not supportive. There is sooooo much bullying and some kids have almost died. If you are looking for a school do not put your kids in this one. Oh and one other thing there is no rease at all!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

i always hopping my kids proud of me,because i always will care of them,how always does parents other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

I worked like crazy to get my kids into this school because everyone said that it was "the best school in Providence". It was TERRIBLE. The only thing going for it is an incredibly enthusiastic PTO and a smattering of excellent under-supported teachers. Otherwise, it's a complete mess- terrible facilities, basic necessities not in place, no recess (????!), really just outrageously bad conditions all around. It turned my school-loving, academically advanced son into a school-dreading kid with a "learning disability". We moved to a new town with better schools and thankfully my boy is back on track, (in the gifted program!). What a complete and utter failure this school is. Very very sad indeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

I will make a review base on year 2012. I am not impressed with the classroom pupils, 26 students per class. The whole way is so dark, no sun light.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Vartan teachers are dedicated to their students. They are willing to stay and help those in need. Are willing to meet with parents/grandparents on any given day and even after school. They give their all and it's nice to see a bunch of teachers dedicated to student achievement rather than a 'nine to five' job.


Posted October 17, 2009

Wonderful, caring, teachers who take a diverse student body with varying skill sets and installs the love of learning in them. Parents who are active and support the wonderful work the staff does with our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

We are a 'family' at Vartan Gregorian School at Fox Point - caring, respectful, and hard working. Recently named a 'Title 1 Distinguished School for closing the achievement gaps among student groups, the principal, teachers, staff, parents, families and students, both past and present, are dedicated to the important work we do at school everyday. Alumni teachers, staff, students and their families are frequent visistors to our school, recalling fondly their years at Fox Point. Community partnerships with Brown University, National Science Foundation, Rhode Island School of Design, Trinity Square Reperatory Theater, AquaLife, All Childrens Theatre, JUMP! Dance Company and many more enrich the daily lives of our students while helping to increase adult content knowledge across the curriculum. The PTO is supportive and works extremely hard to enhance the experiences of everyone at our school. Our academic efforts are reflected in some of the highest test scores in the city and, recently, we outperformed the state average in Science! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Vartan has the most amazing teachers! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

lots of great parental involvement, teachers, and principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

great teachers, involved parents -- a really terrific neighborhood school on the rise
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I love Vartan Gregorian because there is a great deal of dedication throughout the school community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2009

the teachers are really motivated, the kids are respectful and wonderful, the parents do an incredible amount for the school, and the principal sets high standards. It's a great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

What an evolution this school has gone through in the last few years - and now, with Colin Grimsey at the helm, it's a vibrant, transparent, happy place. Good teachers, great diversity, and a deep pool of committed parents helping to guide the ship. Definitely a public school worth studying, maybe emulating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

the best school. i ever seen teachers and staff get involed help strong pto. its very clean it shines it has alot to offer drama club all childrens theather.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I have a 1st grader that attends the school as far as i know this school is one of the best in providence parents are always invovled in what goes on at the school and my sons teacher is the best she lets you know whats going on with your child daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

I used to attend this school and im currently a high school junior. this elementry school so far for me is the best one in the Providence School District. I really enjoyed as a young student working with Brown University on my school work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

Great school! My kids are 1st and 3rd grade. Many good teachers, strong PTO, many kid events, strong math and language prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

One of the best public school's my child has attended. It has a very strong special education program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 59% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students71%
Female71%
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged students56%
Not economically disadvantaged students80%
Title I71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant71%

Reading

All Students86%
Female92%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged students73%
Not economically disadvantaged students93%
Title I86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students62%
Female53%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged students46%
Not economically disadvantaged students81%
Title I62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant62%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female58%
Male63%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged students46%
Not economically disadvantaged students76%
Title I59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant59%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students66%
Female65%
Male67%
Black or African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged students51%
Not economically disadvantaged students85%
Title I66%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant66%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male71%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged students63%
Not economically disadvantaged students97%
Title I78%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant78%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female66%
Male39%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged students36%
Not economically disadvantaged students76%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant54%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 64%
Hispanic 26% 22%
Black 22% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

455 Wickenden St
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: (401) 456-9377

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wheeler School
Providence, RI


Agnes B. Hennessey School
East Providence, RI


Sacred Heart School
East Providence, RI


Moses Brown School
Providence, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT