Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vartan Gregorian El. School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
The PTO rocks! Seriously, the community involvement makes this a really special place. Lots of fun events after hours to get the families involved.

Vartan Gregorian El. School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
Our kid has loved hers. Can't say much about the others, I just don't know.


Vartan Gregorian El. School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
So far, so good! Doable, not a discouraging amount. And building good habits and the fun of learning.

Vartan Gregorian El. School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
These kids are aware of those around them who need help or who can offer help. They know that they are all coming up together. They work hard

Vartan Gregorian El. School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
On the playground, before and after school, and in the halls, there is an atmosphere of mutual respect and admiration.


Vartan Gregorian El. School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
Each month the kids collect donations of food, clothing, etc. to be brought to school, then distributed around the city. Every year, the kids work on performances of dance, art, writing, music, to be shared. The school is inclusive of differently abled children. The school community is very diverse, and this is celebrated and appreciated. Kids with virtually no English language skills are accepted and learn here.

Vartan Gregorian El. School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
The kids are made to feel "smart as a fox and strong as a bear."

Vartan Gregorian El. School 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
We switched over from Henry Barnard Elementary. Our kid is much happier here. Loves her teachers. More freedom, more support and encouragement. She feels like part of the community, just as she is. It's not private school, so it's a little rough around the edges, but so is life. And until private school people put the time, energy, and money into their community schools...


Vartan Gregorian El. School 3

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
The school is old and in need of some updates. The courtyard and playground, baseball field, and basketball court next to the school is a plus. My son enjoyed his experience and made many close friends. The sense of community between the children was awesome as they all would attend school and the boys and girls club less than a block away. I did feel some discrimination against my child as he was a minority male. I felt teachers would pressure me to medicate my child as he was energetic. I had my son evaluated by the providence center who did not feel he needed medication after several evaluations and classroom observation. Many mothers with male children have felt the same way in this school. The curriculum and work is rigorous which was great.

Vartan Gregorian El. School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
What a wonderful little school. I am saddened to hear there will no longer be a pre-k program after this year. I am not sure where I will send my children. I don't think there are any schools in the city that are not private that I can feel comfortable with my children in. Sad that I no longer have a choice and will be forced to send them to a school out of my neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vartan Gregorian El. School
455 Wickenden St, Providence, RI  02906
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (401) 456-9377
Last modified Vartan Gregorian El. School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top