Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martin Luther King El. School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has had a great experience at King so far. The administrators, teachers and staff are exceptional. The students are learning and the school encourages family and community involvement through programs and activities. This school is truly a gem on the East side.

Martin Luther King El. School 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
I am very glad that I had a chance to transfer my son to this school. He has learned so much from his teacher and I appreciate ask the time they out into their students.


Martin Luther King El. School 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a teacher
I have had kids at King for 6 years and will have kids there for another 6 and am gratified that this is the school with which my kids have a long term relationship. They are learning and thriving. Teachers give them enrichment and advanced work when they need it and extra support when they're struggling. Their peers are wonderful. We're all proud to be part of the MLK community. My oldest is heading off to middle school next year and he's well-prepared and ready to tackle new challenges, thanks to the teaching and learning that happened at King. Please visit and check it out - see for yourself!

Martin Luther King El. School
no rating

Posted January 25, 2010
- a parent
Having done my research on all the top schools in Providence, I am very pleased with the education that my son is receiving at MLK. Certainly there could be more extracurricular activities, but in terms of curriculum, they are top notch. It is a welcoming environment, diverse and a true gem on the East Side. The teachers are wonderful, and truly dedicated to positively affecting the lives of our children. Kudos.

Martin Luther King El. School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
Martin Luther King is a wonderful school. My girls have been attending since pre-school and have had great teachers. They love their school, their teachers and the many friends they have made along the way. My son cannot wait to start pre-school at King so he can be a part of it as well. As for the new principal and staff are definitely doing a great job. Everyone is very friendly, helpful and organized. Nurse Wittles is the best. Looking forward to another great year. Keep up the great work everyone. I hope we win!!! :)


Martin Luther King El. School 5

Posted September 26, 2009
- a community member
This is a diverse school that provides the highest quality of academics while maintaining an atmosphere of peace. It's wonderful!

Martin Luther King El. School
no rating

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
This school has a safe, comfortable and welcoming environment for higher education whose staff is very knowledgeable and approachable. Both of my daughters enjoy attending MLK.

Martin Luther King El. School
no rating

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
I'm happy that my son attends MLK, is a very organized school. I feel that he is safe, and is getting the approriate education. There is always a friendly environment around MLK school.


Martin Luther King El. School
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
MLK is like a second home to my two kids. The teachers and the staff are all so familiar to them now. They also enjoy helping out in our amazing school garden.

Martin Luther King El. School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
The staff is extremely helpful and organized! MLK provides a very nurturing environment for the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King El. School
35 Camp St, Providence, RI  02906
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (401) 456-9398
Last modified Martin Luther King El. School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top