Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Pleasant High School

Public | 9-12 | 1093 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2012

Mount Pleasant does not help stundents get into a for good colleges , but HOPE SCHOOL is awesome. they got my son into a wonderful college after i switched him out of mount Pleasant . Mount pleasant is just a school for under average students. Colleges do not accept students from Mount Pleasant because of their low performance , even if the student is doing well is very hard just because the school is not a good one overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

As a graduate of Mount Pleasant I will say that the school needs a complete makeover. The building is outdated and some of the teachers do not care. I did not learn very much in Mount Pleasant and because of that I struggled my first year in college. Some teachers do care and take the time to teach their students. Parents my advice proceed with caution, Mount Pleasant will not give your children a good education, look into charter, catholic or other public schools for a more smaller classroom enviroment and better academic curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

Well I think it was an excellent school. I transfered from New york my senior year and all the staff were very nice. All My teachers treated me like friends. I believe that everyone that didn't graduate was becasue they didn't put enough effort into their school work. I believe that its just the students fault that the school rating is low. The shool work is so easy compared to New York so no one should be failing. I would recommend this school to students that really want to become someone in life not low lives that want to do nothing and still expect to graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

I have recently graduated from there and its not the best school in providence. I never really studied and didnt learn much
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

i agree and than disagree alot of the seniors this year in high schoool for year 2008 did not graduate but that was there fault because some where in there 4 years of high schoool they did bad on one of there credits which they never made up but for the most part mounts 75% good and 25% bad because of those kids who werent raised right but me i am going to 10th grade in august of 2008 and i dont want to switch schools becuase im use to mount pleasant and it is fun! and a goood education place
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

i think this school is very dangerous just like many others , there is alot of violence going on .
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

I graduated from MPHS. A lot of the teachers did not care or respect the students. There were only a handful of teachers that actually did care. The students were also out of controll. Not enough disipline. It did not prepare me for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2005

Needs improvement. Some teachers show that they care about the students, others dont. They need to ask the student more about their opinion and start taking them instead of overlooking them.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

193 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
2%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students3%
Female1%
Male4%
Black or African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino2%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)20%
Economically disadvantaged students3%
Not economically disadvantaged students3%
Title I3%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities3%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English3%
Non-migrant3%

Reading

All Students40%
Female42%
Male37%
Black or African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged students42%
Not economically disadvantaged students35%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)2%
Proficient in English51%
Non-migrant40%

Writing

All Students13%
Female19%
Male8%
Black or African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)30%
Economically disadvantaged students11%
Not economically disadvantaged students23%
Title I13%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English16%
Non-migrant13%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 21%
Black 23% 8%
White 8% 65%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

434 Mount Pleasant Ave
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 456-9181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


La Salle Academy
Providence, RI


George N Hunt Campus School
North Providence, RI


E-Cubed Academy
Providence, RI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT