Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Salle Academy

Private | 7-12 | 1460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Providence

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2013

I agree, La Salle is easily one of the best schools in New England. The sports are very competitive, they have just about every club and extra curricular activity that you could possibly want, they strongly encourage creativity and success in the arts, and the teachers build a very strong learning foundation for college. The students here always excel on AP exams and SATs because the teachers work hard to prepare them. Many will agree that there is a timeless spirit at La Salle. Everyone is so kind and warm. If you want your child to succeed in life, send them to La Salle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

I will be a senior at La Salle and can honestly tell you that the past three years have been the best of my life so far. I have partaken in cross country, track, SADD, French club, debate, ski club, forensics, choir, and art club. There are so many more that I could join, but unfortunately I don't have the time. I am so very thankful for the friendships and opportunities I have been given here. I am in honors and AP classes. The classes are very stimulating. I spend at LEAST 3 hours a night on homework. Sometimes I detest that, but I know that I will be very prepared for college. The teachers truly care about you here. I have always felt comfortable talking to them, they will help you with anything you need. There is a spirit at La Salle that cannot be denied. The people here are so respectful and friendly, and I am always greeted by a familiar face. The sense of community and love that i feel when i walk through the doors is something that is unexplainable. I will miss this school so much when I am in college, but I know that I will be so prepared for the future. I strongly recommend this high school to anyone who wants to excel in life.


Posted July 25, 2013

My son graduated from La Salle in 2012 and would go back there in a minute if he could. My daughter will be a senior this year and my other daughter will be a freshman. I have to say, I completely disagree with the review below. We haven't wasted our money at all here. The teachers are amazing. Maybe the student didnt ask questions or participate in class, but they have always really made sure my kids understood the material. My children have never hesitated to email a teacher or stay after school for extra help. The teachers are all passionate about the subjects that they teach and they work hard to help the kids succeed. La Salle also has a sense of community that my son misses now that he's at a big university. The students are all very respectful. He thrived on good relationships with his teachers, they get to know every student. The sports at La Salle are top notch, and there is a club for everyone to join. Not to mention, the campus is beautiful, and the science wing is one of the best in RI. La Salle has nurtured my kids, taught them, and given them friendships and memories to sat a lifetime. It has so much to offer. I promise you, you won't regret sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

As a student at this school, I honestly feel as thought my parents' tuition money is going to waste. I tried transferring to prep school where I felt that the tuition is actually worth it, but unfortunately, my family couldn't handle the tuition bill in addition to my brothers' college tuition. The only factor about LaSalle that makes me stay as opposed to going to my town's public school is the fact that I do feel safe at LaSalle. There are some teachers who are great at what they do, but most of the teachers, patently, are not capable of teaching. Some have masters degrees, almost none have a doctorate. I would say that maybe 2% at MOST of the faculty have the highest degree in their field (whereas prep schools have about 70% faculty with highest degree). If you want to go to PC and make 80-120k a year, go to LaSalle. If you actually want to live a successful life, look somewhere better. Don't waste your money on a school that won't do much for you. LaSalle is NOT a good investment for education.


Posted October 26, 2012

I think La Salle is an okay school. It has many extra-curricular activities, but the school itself doesn't support many of them. Only extra curricular activity that they really support is sports. The school has good community if you are big on sports but if you arent then the school will kinda isolate you from their community. School is only good for sports really. School only cares about money too. Way too expensive on books, lunch, and overall tuition is ridiculous. I think they need to get their academic mission staight.


Posted April 20, 2010

Graduated in 08'. Teachers are awesome, build a strong learning foundation but encourage individuality. One of the best schools in New England, easily. And the sports are always competitive, especially soccer which boats nationally ranked programs for boys and girls. A B+ average from LSA can pretty much get you into any college. Huge, beautiful campus that is growing into a state of the art mecca for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

This school is absolutely wonderful! My children love it and they are doing very well. They did go to a public school before and like LaSalle much better than the disorganized chaos that is public schools! I really recommend this school-- and the best part... there's no pressure from other students to wear the ''right'' clothes... so less spending there. Five stars all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

This is the best school I could imagine for my daughter. I feel she is safe there but I don't feel as though she is living in a bubble and has no problems to overcome- there is a happy-medium that LaSalle seems to have reached. My daughter is challenged everyday to think in new ways and to create and to live and love graciously. Also, there is an extra-curricular activity for everyone and if they don't have the activity you want, they will try to make a new team or a club for that activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

In many ways Lasalle is a wonderful school. There is a great school spirit, it is safe and the students are nice kids. But, it is also white and middle class. The kids wear uniforms and sit in rows. In some ways, it is education with blinders on, a bubble. We went out of our way to be sure that our kids had a better feel for the world outside, but we have seen first hand kids who had a big problem when they had to deal with the real world after H.S. It is a good school and the right school for the kids who need the discipline and order. Maybe not the right school for kids who are more self-directed, self motivated and independent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

I am a freshman at La Salle this year and I already love it. I went to Ferri Middle in Johnston and it is such a big difference. La Salle really pushes the students to do well. I like it so much there and I have only been in school for 2 weeks. I am in the Honors Program and it is really hard but the teachers can help you or tutor you whenever you need it. I recommend this school for anyone who wants to do well in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2005

All four of my children graduated from LaSalle. My son is still in college and due to graduate next Spring. All three of my daughters went on to graduate magna cum laude from three wonderful colleges. I believe that LaSalle was a great factor in their success. The teachers in the school prepared them well by providing the necessary content instruction and the study skills needed to succeed once they were in a more independent work situation. I have always thought well of the school and its faculty and I can attest to what it has done for my own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

This school is great. My son is a junior this year. Trust me your child will get a brain workout. It is not a school for the faint hearted. They have many academic levels. No matter if your child is a high achiever or needs help there is a place for him/her at Lasalle. The Guidance department is very experienced. I suggest to every parent, take advantage of the Guidance department they keep you informed on how your child is performing. There are no surprises, because you also have edline where you can check on your childrens grades. Some teachers update it every 2 weeks others more often. Lots of homework be ready. Completing your homework plays a big part of grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

La Salle Academy is a tremendous school. A timeless spirit can be found among both students and faculty. Great academics, great sports, and a great sense of community are all among La Salle's assets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Simply put, if your child is a 'high achiever' then he or she should be in Rhode Island's absolute best private or public high school, La Salle Academy. The culture of excellence and highest standards has no compromise at LaSalle Academy. The best gift I ever gave my daugher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I would strongly recommend this school to anyone who wants to succeed and excel in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 67%
Hispanic 4% 19%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 Academy Ave
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 351-7750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Augustine School
Providence, RI





George N Hunt Campus School
North Providence, RI


Sophia Academy
Providence, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT