Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
292 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henry Barnard School At Ri College
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The new Principal is amazing! She knows the name of each student at the school and is a positive energy.

Henry Barnard School At Ri College
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
From what I have experienced, my child has received 10 minutes of homework per grade level. For example, they have 10 minutes of homework in 1st grade.


Henry Barnard School At Ri College
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The school teaches children (from pre-school and up) to respect each other - each students' style and pace of learning. From what I can see, there is little bullying.

Henry Barnard School At Ri College 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My two children are currently enrolled at Henry Barnard (both in the lower school) and they love to school each day. I like it, too! Their teachers are dynamic, engaging, and supportive. In particular, their STEAM-based approach to learning with Tech Ed is great, and a real selling point for the school. I only wish for clearer and more timely communication about tuition each year.

Henry Barnard School At Ri College 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had always dreaded school, even though we started her out with the gentlest Montessori preschool, but it wasn't until she ended up at HBS (in 3rd grade) through an unforeseen turn of events that she was truly happy. Kind teachers, variety of curriculum, socially responsible learning. The math sometimes lags behind my daughter's capacities, but the rest is stellar, including science and creative writing.


Henry Barnard School At Ri College 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
This was one of the best options for local families in the Providence area in need of a small class size and well rounded educational experience. Recently the tuition has been moving up each year (according to principal due to state funding cuts) at a rapid rate. Discussions around this issue for families enrolled and unable to meet new tuition hikes is not supportive. Over the last three years it has almost doubled and the expectation is it will continue to go up. The school is a business and the leadership believes it can continue to survive with increased cost and not change in programming. The education is good and should be what a quality public school should resemble. The school has missed the demographic is serves and will continue to loose many families if it continues to raise the tuition. Little to no financial aide is provided.

Henry Barnard School At Ri College 1

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
Henry Barnard School - RI College - Providence, RI My daughter attended Henry Barnard school several years ago from grades K-2. I had actually intended to have her attend through 5th grade, but I had to take her out because she wasn't learning anything. This school was a total waste of time - with no structured learning - they let everyone "figure it out for themselves." The "innovative educational practices" referenced in the comments below translate into "total chaos." I am certain that there are some students who can learn in an unstructured environment, but most cannot. The place was total chaos - no-one took attendance; there was no directed teaching; the students wandered around and did whatever they wanted. No formal rules or procedures were ever disseminated to the parents, and there was very little discipline or follow through. My daughter was seriously injured three times at Henry Barnard; and in all instances it was by other students with out-of-control behavior. None of the students (or their parents) were ever reprimanded or held accountable. In second grade, my daughter was absent for a week and her teacher didn't even know she wasn't there - a waste of money.

Henry Barnard School At Ri College 4

Posted January 28, 2007
- a parent
Great school for grades K-2. Teachers meet and exceed even the highest expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry Barnard School At Ri College
600 Mount Pleasant Avenue, Providence, RI  02908
(401) 456-8217
Last modified Henry Barnard School At Ri College is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Henry Barnard School At Ri College Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top