Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highlander Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I'm so thankful for everything you have taught my children. I don't have words to express how thankful I am. Thank you Mrs. Sorensen and Mrs. Dobson for everything you have done so far for my kids. I'm really thankful! God bless you both!

Highlander Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I'm pretty sure all of them are great teachers, but I can only talk about Mrs. Sorensen and Mrs. Dobson. Great experience with both of them. They treat my children as if they were their own. This right here is priceless.


Highlander Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Every week both of my kids receive a packet to submit by the end of the week. I just have to supervise my kids because they feel so confident about the material given.

Highlander Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Teachers teach student how to respect others. Also they teach students how to aproach other students and/or person with respect.

Highlander Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The school staff/teacher always keep an excellent communication with us parents. I always know how my kids are doing throughout the day which is really important when you leave your little ones. Like I mentiones before i feel like I'm leaving my kids with family.


Highlander Charter School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Excellent... I really enjoy taking my kids to school everyday. I love the way all staff treats my kids. I feel that we are family.

Highlander Charter School 1

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Some Staff and Teachers are wonderful. Others are horrible As a parent I am sometimes welcome in the classroom, depending upon the teacher. I am sometimes informed of what the kids are learning. The school doesn't want to hear about a child's struggles it's easier to label a child lazy than to address the problem.

Highlander Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Mr Ruben who no longer teaches there. Mr Willard. Miss Mav no longer a teacher there. Miss Cavanah no longer teaches. Mr Wolf no longer a teacher.


Highlander Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
This school has some of the most compassionate diligent teachers and some teachers that obviously either don't want to teach or are in over their head. They frequently use TFA staff who have no experience.

Highlander Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Homework consist of unfinished class work as well as homework. Homework is assigned over every school break. To much

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlander Charter School
42 Lexington Ave, Providence, RI  02907
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (401) 277-2600
Last modified Highlander Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top