Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highlander Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
Individual learning plans, devoted faculty and staff, arts based curriculum. Celebrated diversity in a small community based school.

Highlander Charter School 5

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
I doubt this space is large enough for me to write everything I love about Highlander. Let's start with the dedicated support staff and the wonderful teachers, or we could talk about the student-specific teaching style, or maybe I should mention how my children are genuinely engaged and excited by school. Perhaps, though, it would be our award-winning after school program that would catch your interest. The bottom line is after having had my children in Highlander, I cannot imagine putting them anywhere else.


Highlander Charter School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
I love this school and one of the reason is because they focus on each individual learning process.

Highlander Charter School 1

Posted February 27, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Highlander Charter School 0
no rating

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year at Highlander. She attended a local Catholic School prior to attending Highlander and we are both very happy with the change. She is excited about going to school everyday and about learning. Socially, she is accepted here for who she is, and I feel blessed that she has the opportunity to attend Highlander. Her teacher has over eight years of teaching experience and has really made an impression on my daughter. I see her challenging herself and becoming more responsible for her work each day. Thank you to all the staff for creatng the school environments parents dream about.


Highlander Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
I've been a teacher here for 5 years now. I teach 8th grade math and science and I love my job and teaching children in Providence. The staff of the school is young (but experienced) and getting better every day,...I trust them and their management and creativity enough to bring my Kindergartner here,...we have a great chess team and field soccer, basketball and step teams,...

Highlander Charter School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent with two childern in CVS Highlander. The staff is excellent. Teachers are willing too try what will work for each student. I have one child who needs extra help it is alsway provided. One child excells and is meet where she is at and she strives to excell. Truly is one student at a time! They desrive a big pat on the back. CVS is truly a Family and has the best intress for each of the students. Mt childern go to the after scholl program and when I come to pick them up they do not want to leave. Every one at this school give there all. More teachers in this state need to have an once of this and remember why they wanted to become teachers in the first place and not to have summers off! For the children! CVS Highlander Is GREAT! LOL

Highlander Charter School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Fantastic. Staff and Teachers are wonderful. As a parent I am always welcome in the classroom, I am informed of what the kids are learning. They really do teach every child including the ones that are not struggling. Great job.


Highlander Charter School 0
no rating

Posted November 26, 2007
- a community member
All the packaging is enticing, the extracurricular activities look good on paper but the achievers wait all day for the challenged students to try to get on task. Not the place for a student working at grade level. Young idealistic teachers, large turnover.

Highlander Charter School 2

Posted June 06, 2007
- a parent
most of the teachers are new+ inexperienced. experimental teaching techniques confuse , don't get the job done or 'dumb it down'.Small class size doesn't necessarily guaurantee that each child is met at their level+ then raised from there. overall academic school performance has been average or lower. extracurricular activities seem to be numerous and varied but with limited space. Sorry but i'm very dissapointed

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highlander Charter School
42 Lexington Ave, Providence, RI  02907
(401) 277-2600
Last modified Highlander Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highlander Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.