Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paul Cuffee Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
This teacher inspired me to try my best and always tell the kind truth. She is funny and helped anyone no matter what their past, she is creative and always trys to get us involved. When we had a problem she made solving it a priority.

Paul Cuffee Charter School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
some students are not always motivated to work hard at the beginning but teachers always find a way to help them be determined


Paul Cuffee Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
Students respect one and other and help each other , a student will never let the door close in someones face, they will volunteer to hold it

Paul Cuffee Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
This school has a great community, students and staff trust one and other and work together to help students learn the best and feel safe.

Paul Cuffee Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
The teachers and students accept you for who you are no matter what. their punishments are fair and arent really punishments, they are only there to put you back on track to be the best you can be. The teachers are honest with you no matter what.


Paul Cuffee Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2016
- a student
This is a great school. It teaches me so much about the real world. Kids there are so friendly. The staff makes you feel at home, safe, respected and trusted. The teachers will always listen to you and in courage speaking up. This school is like my second home!

Paul Cuffee Charter School 4

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
My child goes to the elementary school, and his experience has been very positive. He's had excellent teachers every year, and he is challenged, I do need to ask his teachers to give him more challenging work but they always accommodate him. What makes Cuffee special is its attention to social/emotional learning and its culture of respect for everyone in the community. In my experience, this is not true of most (if not all) of the Providence public elementary schools, where principals communicate with students using megaphones, and teachers yell at the students. My son says (even though some teachers are "strict") he always feels safe, and has never been bullied. The elementary school is the oldest, and the best-functioning of the three levels. I've heard the middle school is getting very good, but since the high school is new there seems to be some challenges. I hope these get ironed out before my son is ready to go to high school. I prefer a small school to Classical - the small size at Cuffee is a huge plus - everyone really gets to know each other and this gives the school a very 'homey' feel.

Paul Cuffee Charter School 2

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
Can I tell you that the nurses at this school are completely out of their mind? One of them gave asthma medication to my non asthmatic son without consulting me at all.The lack of good education is also something to be concerned about. My other son complains that his new classes at classical are hard and paul cuffee teaches you the bare minimum (no advanced classes for those who need them), useless maritime knowledge, and that other former middleschoolers (who attended public schools) are more prepared than he is. Socialization is another problem, kids are forced to be in a class with few students and cannot practice social skills as well as if they were in a bigger enivronment. Please consider the fact that just because it's charter, doesn't mean it's better. They take away necessary resources away from public school while giving students less than at public schools. Sure smaller class sizes are "good" but motivated smart kids will do the same (or better) if they were at public schools.


Paul Cuffee Charter School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Paul cuffee is a great school, my doughter went there from 3-8 grade, she were well prepare to go to Clasical hight school, now she is in her second year in URI ; thanks for the confidence that the the teachers from Paul Cuffee Charter School.

Paul Cuffee Charter School 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
all five of my kids go here. Great culture, friendly environment and the students are disciplined. Academically my children do very well here. I love the way my daughter (3rd grade) reads, thanks to her then kindergaten teacher Ms. Hill. My kids love the school and so does my husband and I. Great involved PTO. No child gets left behind at Paul Cuffee School. Funga Alafia...Ase Ase!!! Give us peace... Amen, Amen

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paul Cuffee Charter School
459 Promenade St, Providence, RI  02908
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (401) 453-2626
Last modified Paul Cuffee Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top