Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary Academy-Bay View

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Riverside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

Changing to this school has been a great move for our daughter. The individualized teaching, accelerated programs and exciting use of technology has her enjoying everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

We were dissatisfied with Bay View on a number of levels, but the biggest one was the quality of teachers. If you want experienced, caring, enthusiastic and well-qualified teachers, look elsewhere. If you want teachers who went to Bay View themselves, this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

It's an ok school, but it is going downhill. The girls are living in a bubble. There aren't as many students as threre used to be, and the girls are very cliquey, especially in high school. The school only cares about sports, and most of the teachers don't know what they're teaching with the exception of a couple good ones. I really wouldn't recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

Bayview is a wonderful school that prepared both my daughter and myself for our futures. We are both strong women who live life to the fullest. My daughter was well prepared for college and is able to balance academics with a job and friendships. Twenty-seven years after graduation, I still maintain close friendships with many of my classmates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

We have been at BVA elementary for 3 years and have not regretted our decision for a minute. We travel 1/2 hr each way and it is well worth it! The teachers are wonderful and truly care about the girls. Every day they care about not only the academics but the girls as people. They could not be any more caring or supportive. Both our daughters are thriving. Our oldest is going into middle school next year and we only hope the middle school is as wonderful as the elementary. Thank you to all who work so hard to make BVA such a wonderful place for our daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Bay View is without a doubt an amazing school. My cousin went to Bay View and she always told me how wonderful how wonderful the school was (and is), but I took her comments with a grain of salt. The only reason I took the admissions test was because a friend of mine didn't want to take it alone. Well, I got in -- and the rest, as they say, is history. I had a terrific experience at Bay View. Going from public to private school (and not being around boys every day) was tough at first, but I got used to it. The teachers are fantastic. To this day, I still talk to some of them (and I graduated in 2008). Bay View prepared me so well for college, and I'm now holding a 3.98 GPA at one of the top schools in the country, with plans to go to graduate school for speech-language pathology. Bay View is well worth the money and I would recommend this school to any young woman looking for an excellent education,


Posted December 3, 2011

Don't listen to these negative reviews. There are no "all girl" problems, just that that is the Elementary School, and kids don't know any better. I am in middle school, looking for high schools next year and I have no hesitations about staying at Bay View. The all girls atmosphere has helped me concentrate on my learning and not have the distraction of boys around, unlike other coed schools in the area. The connection and care that comes from the teachers is tremendous and you couldn't ask for anything better. We are most definitely up to date on math and science departments, and our school is not falling downhill. As many of my other classmates will agree, Bay View is like a second home to us, and all the teachers and administrators care about us. I would never think about changing schools because the atmosphere is just so amazing. We have an amazing preforming arts and sports program, yes, but our academics are outstanding.


Posted October 19, 2011

Bay View doesn't compare to any other school in RI. It out ranks them in academic achievements, regional and national testing scores, athletics and college preparedness. It teaches young woman to be self confident, competitive and independent thinkers. Their mission is to "prepare young woman for the challenges of the global community of the 21st century". It is a school of opportunity that fosters excellence. One of the first comments from returning alum is that they were well prepared for college and how much they appreciate what BVA has given them. It is money well spent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2010

I am a parent in the Elementary school. Bay View is excellent acadmically, however, they could be better at dealing with social issues and all the 'all gir' issues have to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

crushes sense of individuality. Also is too narrow in teaching ways and in learning style
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

In a few short weeks, my daughter has learned more at St. Mary Academy-Bay View than she did in an entire year at her previous school. The teachers are motivated, creative, and sincerely care about their students. The school strikes a perfect balance of being nurturing and challenging, while emphasizing values of respect, responsibility, compassion, and honesty. We are so happy our daughter is at Bay View. She loves it, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Bay view is an excellent school. we learn discipline, religion, and everything every school is supposed to offer. Although there are no boys, which may be disappointing at times, it's easier to concentrate on our work without them. I am currently in 7th grade, in the all honors class, and maintain an A average. i doubt that if i was in Johnston public, i'd do this good. The teachers are wonderful because they really get to know you and they try to make learning fun. they Want you to learn, and that's the most important thing. For any child who's looking to attend the middle school, well there are midterm and final exams. try to do your best and the teachers will like you. it's an amazing school and if you dont attend, your missing out on great oppurtunity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2009

Bay View is hiding behind its former excellence. The school is rapidly slipping downhill and is falling behind in math and science studies. The administration puts too much value on sports excellence because they know it will bring the school publicity, but this is at the expense of its academic excellence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

Coming to Bay View was by far the best decision I have ever made. I left Smithfield High School because I absolutely hated it, and I found everything I was looking for in terms of preparation for college, at the Bay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2007

I'm a ninth grader at Bayview and I can honestly say I look forward to school everyday. It's my first year here so you would think transition would be hard, but it's just such a comfortable and empowering place, one can't help but love it. I've attended several different schools in the past few years and have decided that BVA is the place for me without a doubt. The girls are great, the teachers are great, and the whole system just adds to the acedemic experience. The sports teams are some of the best in the state, and there are extracurricular activities galore for anyone and everyone interested. We put on an amazing Cabaret as well and many of our girls are musically and artistically talented. Parents can be as involved as they want, but the school can usually handle itself. It really is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2007

I attended Bay View for high school. It was an amazing experience that has changed my life in more was than I can describe. In short, the academics are fantastic, I was barely in the top third of my class and I am currently attending one of the best colleges in the country. The teachers are amazing: they pushed me beyond what I ever imagined I could do and prepared me extremely well for college. The extracurriculars are fanastic, especially the arts. The administration was great, they were personally involved in the students' lives. Finally, the student body was incredible. When I entered high school I was extremely shy and passive. I have become a much more active and aware citizen and have made friendships that will last a lifetime. Going to Bay View was the best decision I ever made.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2006

I am a student at Bay view and I think this is one of the best`schools in ri. I am getting a great education.I have`met lots of great frends. when I first visited was given a tour of the elementary school by fifth graders they knew so much about their school and were proud of it.Here there are music, art, spanish, and library classes. there is also a computer class. I have attended scince pre k and am now in fifth. I love my teacher and my school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2005

My daughter started at BVA in the 4th grade. She came from a very small private school. The teachers were very attentive to her need for adjustment and now as she enters her freshman year I have nothing but good things to say about the continual guidance that the school provides. I feel the school provides more than just an excellent academic program. They turn out young women not afraid of exploring and reaching out to accept new and diverse challenges of today's highly competitive environment whether it be in the arts or the sciences. It is nice to see taditional values being imparted to the girls in a wonderfully modern way without stifling their growth. Truly a gem of a school. ~nd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

I have attended Bay View ever since the First Grade...now I am in the 8th grade. I love it. Although it is an 'all-girls' school, the friends you make, and the teachers are excellent. Teachers strive to make it an educational and fun loving experience. Based on my years at Bay View, I have always loved Middle School the best, you recieve a lot of responsiblity but we do have our fair share of dress down days which is a plus. If you can send your child to this school at an early age or starting in the 6th grade, you will have no regrets. The atmosphere is wonderful, and generous, basing all of it's values on love, edcucation, woman's awareness, and participation, the ethnicity in this school are so diverse and fresh among even the uniforms, I cherish BVA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2005

Our daughter is a freshman and is thriving in the positive environment. She finds teachers are demanding and challenging. Her love of the arts is nurtured through the music and theater programs. We feel a real partnership between parents and administration to give our daughter the best opportunity to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3070 Pawtucket Avenue
Riverside, RI 02915
Phone: (401) 434-0113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Garvin Memorial School
Cumberland, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT