Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Kingstown High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

My son has been attending this school for over a year, and his experience has been excellent, the teachers are extremely professional. I only agree with a couple of points from the previous review- administration staff are lacking both people skills and direction, kids are disrespectful, and taxes are horrible in Rhode Island. Welcome to Rhode Island, I don't like it either. If you want an extraordinary experience you should try a private school or try showing your children that they can be better than the handful of lacking individuals that surround them. They are going to be surrounded by them all their lives as adults in the real world. I would recommend South Kingstown High school over so many in Rhode Island that I researched.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2014

Not sure who is in charge when you walk through the door(students or administration/faculty). Of course there are good teachers, there always are. Are they supported in facilitating appropriate learning in mixed classrooms-?? If your student is middle of the road, do not expect much to inspire or develop. Basic requirements of the state is what you'll get. Little respect for faculty(calling teachers by their first names-), hats on, pants barely covering butts..ect..Not a lot of follow through with discipline. Unfortunate as the tax rate is one of the highest in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

The teachers are extremely professional. The school principal is very involved and on target. This is the best school in Rhode Island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2013

i am currently a freshman at this school and i enjoy it very much. i am soon moving to new jersey so i am very sad that i will be moving on from this amazing school. When i started at SK i was new to the state and knew nobody, the people are so welcoming and nice. most of the teachers are great, there is obviously the odd few that i don't like, but thats normal, every teenager has the one teacher they hate. i am a straight B's and C student with your odd A here and there. i would recommend sending you child/teen here because i can guarantee they will love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2013

Wow, so many bad reviews here, or maybe a lot of them are outdated?? Everyone's experience is different, and it's really what you make of it that matters, unless you're having a seriously bad experience, which is rare. On average, teachers are good, bullying isn't a huge problem, administration usually knows what they're doing. Biggest problem: "Guidance counselors" who neither guide nor counsel with care. My personal counselor never meets with me unless there's a problem with my HS schedule, and we have never once discussed college....and I'm a senior. But aside from Guidance department, it's mostly good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2013

Everyone's school experience doesn't necessarily match the reviews, the ratings or the gossip. We have been nothing but pleased with the way SKHS has met the needs of our son. We initially sat down with his counselor who was very careful to consider his learning style and personal needs when arranging his class schedule. She made sure that he knew her door was always open and she was available to help him out if needed. Each of his teachers has been a great fit for his learning style and his personal needs. Having just moved to the area, we were a bit anxious about his adjustment from a small private school to such a large public school. Quite to the contrary, he has done exceptionally well and is enthusiastic about school. My only issue is some of the behaviors my son has described regarding other students. For example, disrespecting teachers, makeout sessions in the hallway between classes and so on. Clearly, these are issues that are best dealt with on an individual basis and don't necessarily reflect the overall character of the school. Nonetheless, we have been pleased with SKHS and grateful for a positive experience there. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

Worse school ever it dont even deserve a star my son is getting physically bullied by a senior and teachers dont do nothing about it.and also many kids falling through cracks!Seriously!If i were you i would put my child somewhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

I do not know how you can have a good review of this school, period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

Both my daughters graduated from south kingstown high school. My oldest had an IEP. She is one of the students who fell through the cracks. She tells me she can't read or spell. This is sad seeing how many iep meetings i attended where they informed me that she was doing well. they would tell me that she is reaching all her goals. all goals met. Oviously i was misinformed for years. Then my next child who was 2 years behind my first daughter had to complete a profolio to graduate. Even though she completed the profolio, she also has difficulty with spelling. I'm a very unsatisfied parent. My girls both attended the high school for 4 yrs. The Kids r rude and i had to go to the school numerous times because of girls bullying my daughter. Overall the Staff, teachers and principal were helpful and didnt tolerate bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Great school! One of my children graduated from SK, another is a current student. Caring teachers and administrators, excellent opportunities for many types of activities, and fabulous preparation for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I am very disappointed in South Kingstown High School. It is too large and many, many students fall thru the 'cracks'. If your child is not a 'jock'-the extra curricular activities are extremely limited, low quality and almost non-existant. There is no innovation in curriculum development nor afterschool programming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Great school! Growing pains are behind us and school is set to excel in the 21st Century!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2006

I graduated from SKHS and loved every minute of my high school experience there. There teachers are wonderful. I felt as though each and every teacher I had truly cared about all of their students. Administration ran the school very smoothly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2005

I absolutely adored this school. I went here for my whole life up until a couple of months ago. I had to be moved in the middle of my senior year because of some personal problems. It was the most difficult thing I have ever had to do.I loved the teachers, adored my counselor's and was absolutely challenged by fast moving curriculum they kept giving me. Thanks to this school I have a great and wonderful outlook on learning and participating in fundamental activity. Thank you South Kingstown High School and my fav. guidane counselor Robert Bellemore.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

254 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students65%
Female66%
Male62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracial40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged students31%
Not economically disadvantaged students70%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant65%

Reading

All Students90%
Female97%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracial100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged students75%
Not economically disadvantaged students93%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Writing

All Students67%
Female81%
Male55%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracial60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged students52%
Not economically disadvantaged students69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant67%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 64%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 Columbia St
Wakefield, RI 02879
Phone: (401) 360-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immaculate Conception Academy
South Kingstown, RI


The Prout School
South Kingstown, RI


South Shore School
Wakefield, RI


Narragansett High School
Narragansett, RI


Middlebridge School
Wakefield, RI


Ocean Tides Inc.
Narragansett, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT