Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Warwick, RI
Students enrolled: 451
 

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Gorton Junior High School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
Teachers worked with my daughter. They helped her when ever she asked. She went from hating reading to reading 23 books in one year!

Gorton Junior High School 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
The teachers in the seventh grade were impressive. They went out of their way in order to help the kids. The dedication of this group of teachers and what they brought to the classroom was brilliant.


Gorton Junior High School 5

Posted December 06, 2008
- a parent
im recently a new 7th grader and last year i was scared of gorton but now i love it all the teachers are there to help us not to just get payed u can join sports drama or sgtay after and do homwork and get more one on one help.Lets go gorton raiders

Gorton Junior High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2008
- a student
ok, gorton is a great school! parents, i go to gorton as an eigth grader, and i loved both years. you have friends to talk to, and the teachers always want to help, whether it be academically or personally. the principal is very nice, and the vice principal has recently changed. the classes are fun most of the time, and you can join any of the many extra curricular activities offered throughout the year. band and chorus are great for students who are inspired by music, and skills classes are so your child can do their homework in school, so they have less to do when they get home! gorton has been a great school for almost every student i've talked to. they all say something to the effect of 'i would never want to go to wynman or aldrich.' thank - you! - A Gorton Student

Gorton Junior High School 1

Posted September 02, 2008
- a student
Gorton is a horrible school and there is barely any art and music. The gym teachers go to hard on the kids.


Gorton Junior High School 2

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
Little or no homework is assigned. Student do a lot of coloring, watching movies and making poster project, but their is much less emphasis on the three R's. The office staff makes parents fell like intruders.

Gorton Junior High School 4

Posted July 25, 2006
- a parent
I was pleased with my daughter's academic progress especially in English and Literacy over her two years in attendance even with all of their contractual issues. PTO is super!

Gorton Junior High School 2

Posted February 12, 2006
- a parent
Overall I am not very satisfied with this school. Office personal don't seem to know whats going on in the school when asked questions. I had called to talk with my son and the response was , ' we cant get a hold of him.' More teacher/parent contact is needed. PTO is much better and they are trying to make it a fun school for the kids but absolutely no help from teachers.


Gorton Junior High School 2

Posted October 19, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs are average to mediocre. Not enough concentration given by teachers on correct punctuation, grammer, and spelling as should be on this level. Barely any homework assigned and kids not taught how to study. No parental contact except progress reports and reports cards at all. Would appreciate more contact from teachers as to day to day activities and how the child is doing. I know there is a music program; am not aware of any other art, sports or extracurricular activities (again, due to lack of contact with the parents). Sale of school function tickets (i.e., dance tickets) disorganized. Kids don't even know where to go to get them. Would like to see improvements made.

Gorton Junior High School 3

Posted August 28, 2004
- a parent
A quick tour of this school and you will understand the school's emphasis. The secretary, administators, and guidence work areas are all air condition with new mondern furniture. It seems that these areas have no trouble getting the money they need to make the enviroment they work in comfortable. Sadly, the area where students are ask to perform don't match the 'office' area standards. Students sit in classroom with poor air circulation and broken windows. The desks, especially the teacher's desks, are often old and appear to be in disrepair.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gorton Junior High School
69 Draper Ave, Warwick, RI  02889
(401) 734-3350
Last modified Gorton Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gorton Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top