Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sherman School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
We moved into this area in 2010. My son was in grade 2. This school has a lot of very dedicated teachers and the principal is very proactive. There are a lot of after school activities available for kids. This current school year 2014/2015, I have 3 kids in school. Though some may feel that there's too much emphasis on testing & less creative learning, I disagree. My kids did very well in their tests and still have time for creative learning. I like that my 6th grader & 3rd grader are required to do projects and presentations on their relevant curriculums. The implementation of the common core standards is excellent in my opinion. My youngest in kindergarten loves and look forward to going to school each day. My only complaint is that it should have been a full time kindergarten instead of the current half day.

Sherman School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Great school! I am a graduate of 1995, now both my children attend and love it just as much as I did.


Sherman School 4

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Sherman school has been a decent school, mainly due to some exceptional, caring teachers. Many programs available to students are helpful with personal development, such as music, Feinstein program. Leadership could be improved. The parents who are involved do wonderful job, but too many uninvolved parents. Long term plans for school department are causing us to look elsewhere for middle and high school years, also increased focus on testing and decrease in creative learning. The district as a whole does not value excellence in education, and focus is on meeting basic requirements rather than supporting students who "need more".

Sherman School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Presently my son is at Sherman school. We moved here from Lincoln about a year ago and were greatly concerned about the value of education during the transition. We were surprised to find that Sherman school was much better than the previous school my son attended. The Principal was marvelous in helping my son become acquainted with this new environment. His teachers have been the best as well. We seem to be very lucky with our choice of schools in Warwick. I hear this is the best elementary school anywhere around the area.

Sherman School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Three of my children have received a marvelous education at Sherman School. Primarily this is due to the extreme dedication of the Principal and the Teaching Staff. This crew works later and harder than any other school I have ever seen. You would be lucky is you had your offspring educated in this school.


Sherman School 5

Posted January 03, 2009
- a parent
My two daughters attend Sherman Elementary. I think it is a wonderful school and I've had nothing but excellent experiences with the teachers and staff.

Sherman School 3

Posted July 02, 2008
- a parent
I think the overall education at Sherman is average. I think that my children are not challenged as much as they should be from talking to parents of children in other communities. I also think that the behavior of some of the children is horrible. The teachers do seem to care alot about the children and parent involvment is strong.

Sherman School 1

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
I think the education level is horrible and the issues at this school never get resolved . I feel like this school has nothing to offer.


Sherman School 1

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
I feel as if this school has not enough to offer. As a parent of three i will be taking my children out of this district due to unresolved issue at this school and uncooperative parent teacher involvement . Also the level of saftey and education is very low at this school and would recommend you look into other schools that better educate and have a better parent involvement and saftey for children and others.

Sherman School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Sherman Elementary School is #1 in Warwick,RI. The academic programs offer far exceed my expectations as a parent. Sherman has implemented the positive behavior program this year. Students, teachers and faculty are developing this program and doing wonderful. The students are learning a lot and adapting to the positive and healthy environment. Music is a major component as well. Introduced early with the recorder, students can move on to violin and then other brass, wind and percussion instruments. There is also a chorus, beginning for students in the 5th grade. Art and gym are offered to students starting in kindergarten. Parent involvement is high. Sherman has a very strong Parent Teacher Organization. Many events are organized each year that the students get involved in. Sherman is a tight knit school where the children feel like a family. The principal is interactive with the children, teachers, staff and parents. Sherman Sharks #1.

Nearby schools

Sherman School
120 Killey Ave, Warwick, RI  02889
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (401) 734-3565
Last modified Sherman School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top