Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toll Gate High School

Public | 9-12 | 1021 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

This school is wicked awsome and the teachers here are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

I had a horrible high school experience at toll gate. Most teachers weren't receptive to students needs and gave a lot of busy work without explaining why. The administration is not worried about students rights or opinions. The bathrooms are crowded with kids smoking and the administration does nothing about it. Each time you walk into a bathroom you leave smelling of smoke, then get harassed and searched because of it. There is also a pretty grave drug problem at toll gate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2007

I Loved going to toll gate it was an excellent high school experience and the teachers really loved what they do!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2006

Toll Gate High School is a great public school, that has a strong science and hummanities program. I went to this high school graduating in 2004, and enjoyed my time enrolled there. Academically I'd be hard pressed to find a school that better prepared me for college. A special part of the curiculum is an advanced math program that allows students to complete calculus by their junior year. However the physics curriculum is severly lacking so I would suggest taking supplementary courses in that area. Overall though, a beautiful academic experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2006

I am a current student and have never seen worse academics at a school before. It can not hold a candle to any other public school in the nation for it is greatly behind. The level of participation among the teachers and the students is terrible. The school needs some serious changes in order to make it a superior school. It no longer has the money nor the motivation by parents, teachers or students to imporve. The contract disbutes have hit hard and the school is suffering. In conlucsion the school needs dedicated teachers which will in turn motivate the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2005

I graduated from Toll Gate in 2004 and I feel that it is the elite high school in Warwick by far. The academics are challenging to those who make it worthwhile. Some of the teachers do make it a hassle to be there and there are some kids that just don't care, but that's the case in every school. I think that my time spent at Toll Gate was well worth whilte but I don't think that the teachers that actually care about their jobs, and the students, are respected enough by the administration. Some members of the administration are completely incompetent. I overall think that Toll Gate has declined since I entered in 2000 and I believe it is declining further.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2005

I graduated from Toll Gate High school last year. Over the four years I spent in Toll Gate, I saw the school go down-hill. Seniors have no senior privledges. School events are rare and hardly worth going to. Academic wise, the school is okay. However, there are a coupple of teachers who are still there dispite the school recieving complaints from almost every student they have taught. All the best teachers have retired or soon will be. The vice principals are looked up to more than the principal for the prinicpal cannot relate to the students whatsoever. From what I hear from my underclassmen, Toll Gate continues to go down-hill. I'm glad I got out of there when I did. It's a shame that such a good school has ended up the way it is -not that I'd like to have gone to any other public school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

I believe that Toll Gate High School is a wonderful place to go to. I am a student there and always feel protected when entering school. I am assured that most teachers are easy to get along with, and respect students equally.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students35%
Female39%
Male30%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian30%
Hispanic or Latino10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged students20%
Not economically disadvantaged students40%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Non-migrant35%

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male84%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged students83%
Not economically disadvantaged students89%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant87%

Writing

All Students62%
Female72%
Male50%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian60%
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White (non-Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged students40%
Not economically disadvantaged students69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 65%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Centerville Rd
Warwick, RI 02886
Phone: (401) 734-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Tides School
West Warwick, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT