Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wickes School 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wickes School 5

Posted November 14, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at John Wickes for seven years. She is now a Sxith Grade student. The principal and 99% of the teachers have been wonderful. The principal has been fair and a huge part of the children's daily routine. We will miss them more than I can say when she leaves to go to Winman.


Wickes School 0
no rating

Posted July 02, 2007
- a parent
I am very unhappy with this school the Principal is very unprofessional & very offensive towards parents and students. Even after going to the school department the issues are still unresolved! The school department doesn't want to hear the complaints about the principal, he just backs him up! I guess it's just easier for them to deny the problems rather than try and make the parents & students comfortable!

Wickes School 2

Posted April 21, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wickes School 1

Posted January 30, 2006
- a parent
As the guardian of a special needs child, this is by far the most backward school I have ever seen. The principal is chastising, aggressive, and offensive to both parents and students alike. The special needs teachers are woefully inadequate and have not been providing any special reading help for a child with documented dyslexia. The problems I've seen with this school are at staggering levels. If you have an alternative school you can send your child to, please choose it! We are relocating in order to get into a different district.


Wickes School 5

Posted May 21, 2005
- a parent
All the teachers at this shool are great. They have been working with my daughter and i have seen improvement in all areas. They truely care about the academic goals for my child. As far as the principal that is another story. He will give you two options his way or take your child to another school. He has no compassion for the child at all. It is good that teachers make up for that one area.

Wickes School 3

Posted May 19, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wickes School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
I have two grandchildren that are in the Warwick School system. The older had special needs and had a 504 plan to follow. All his teachers throughout his school years did a good job following this plan but somehow was left behind at the junior high level. Too bad the education and guidance he received during his first years just ended in seventh grade. The other grandchild is an exceptional student and is not struggling in any of her subjects. I observed no difference in treatment between either grandchild during school hours and all involved should pat themselves on their backs! The school is civic-minded and the extracurricular activities are provided to all students. Two thumbs up for all the effort, even during the time teachers did not have a contract.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wickes School
50 Child Ln, Warwick, RI  02886
(401) 734-3575
Last modified Wickes School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wickes School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top