Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winman Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2008

worst school every , the teachers are not motivated to teach. I pulled out my daughter and put her in another public school and she is doing much better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

hi i go to winman and dont like it all thanks for all the horrible years


Posted October 8, 2010

My daughter finished school there. This school has an outstanding honors program. We moved to one of the best school districts(if not the best) in the state. There is not much opportunities for an exceptional talent kid to grow there. If you have an exceptional talent kid, you will be pleased to send your kid to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

as a sevnth grader at winman jr. high school I think that it's a great school and I enjoy going to school each and every day. Personally, I don't think that this school is too crowded at all, there are plenty of unused lockers here and the classrooms are just right. some classes are very small and others are normal sized. And most of my friends would write the same things about this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

WInman is a great school with great student, faculty, and staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

This still needs alot of improvement. Too many students, too few teachers, almost no school supplies. Though the school is administrated fairly well, there are too many gaps in their day-to-day operations, which trickles throughout the entire school. Overall, Winman JHS is acceptable if private or charter schools are not an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

this school is OKAY. i am a 8th grader attending currently. first of all, it seems teachers are teaching for the NECAP, and not real life. some of the teachers are nice. some will go out of there way to help kids. some teachers could care less about you. there are a lot of intimidating kids, i stay away from them and im fine. ive had things stolen before. gym clothes, a pencil box, and a calculator, total cost...around 135 bucks...school did nothing. the p.e class is terrible, with lack of funding...non athletic and athletic kids are forced into elementary activities which don't help anyone. another problem is the layout of the bathrooms. most teachers wont let kids go to the bathroom...and they expect you to go in between periods, which is only 3 mins. bathrooms are poorly placed and are disgusting. the lack of funding to this school is obvious
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

I am attending Winman as a seventh grader and I agree that the teachers are very nice, and that they guard the halls every morning, but it is not true that children get beaten up in the hall. I have seen one fight in this school and a teacher broke up the fight and the children were sent to the principles office and assigned suspension. As a student the academics of the school are a little under where i accpected them to be. a lot of it is review of 6th grade. Overall i would reccomend Winman to any parent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2007

My advice would be if you could avoid sending your child to this school do so at all costs. The facility and teachers are very nice but there is a definite problem with violence in this school which administration is turning a blind eye to. My child has been threatened and seen other child beaten up in the hallway. Children are attending this school in fear and nothing is being done. They promise to fix the problem and then do nothing. It has been a horrible experience for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

a great school with great leadership
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2006

This school is an okay school. The teachers and principals guard the halls every morning. You have no freedom in this school. At Toll Gate you have a lot more freedom. The availability of music programs are always there. You have to take a music class. There arn't any sports only after school sports like once a week.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2005

My daughter was just enrolled at winman shes in 8th grade. The school looks very clean and well kept my daughter like it and the teachers are very nice this is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

My grandson has special needs and all teachers are suppose to follow his 504 plan. Not one has done so to this point and he is already in the third quarter. I realize that the teachers have been working without a contract but this should not affect the effort put in during regular class hours. When a student has a 504 plan, it is required, by law, that this be followed. My grandson is being left behind and something needs to be done about this. His parents and grandparents have been doing everything in our power to raise his grades and understanding of his subjects but we need help and guidance from his teachers and guidance counselor or this will not work. Follow the 504 plan given to you that he's had since day one and maybe we can salvage his confidence that he can thrive in this 'normal' world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

I was a student at Winman Junior high school. I was there for seventh and eighth grade. It is a horrible school. If you are looking to send your child to this school, my words of advice are don't. My brother was thrown down a set of stairs on the last day of school by a kid who didn't like him, and do you know what the school did? Nothing. The kid was leaving, so what did they care? Not only did he get beat-up, his backpack and watch were also stolen. No action on the school's part. Please, don't go to this school if you care about your future.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students59%
Female60%
Male59%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged students46%
Not economically disadvantaged students65%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant59%

Reading

All Students77%
Female82%
Male72%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged students62%
Not economically disadvantaged students84%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged students52%
Not economically disadvantaged students63%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant60%

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged students76%
Not economically disadvantaged students85%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%

Writing

All Students69%
Female81%
Male56%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged students53%
Not economically disadvantaged students73%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 64%
Hispanic 5% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 4% 8%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Centerville Rd
Warwick, RI 02886
Phone: (401) 734-3375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Joseph School
West Warwick, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT