Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Warwick, RI
Students enrolled: 540
 

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Winman Junior High School 2

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
worst school every , the teachers are not motivated to teach. I pulled out my daughter and put her in another public school and she is doing much better

Winman Junior High School 1

Posted May 15, 2012
- a community member
hi i go to winman and dont like it all thanks for all the horrible years


Winman Junior High School 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
My daughter finished school there. This school has an outstanding honors program. We moved to one of the best school districts(if not the best) in the state. There is not much opportunities for an exceptional talent kid to grow there. If you have an exceptional talent kid, you will be pleased to send your kid to this school.

Winman Junior High School
no rating

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
as a sevnth grader at winman jr. high school I think that it's a great school and I enjoy going to school each and every day. Personally, I don't think that this school is too crowded at all, there are plenty of unused lockers here and the classrooms are just right. some classes are very small and others are normal sized. And most of my friends would write the same things about this school.

Winman Junior High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
WInman is a great school with great student, faculty, and staff!!


Winman Junior High School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
This still needs alot of improvement. Too many students, too few teachers, almost no school supplies. Though the school is administrated fairly well, there are too many gaps in their day-to-day operations, which trickles throughout the entire school. Overall, Winman JHS is acceptable if private or charter schools are not an option.

Winman Junior High School 3

Posted November 09, 2008
- a student
this school is OKAY. i am a 8th grader attending currently. first of all, it seems teachers are teaching for the NECAP, and not real life. some of the teachers are nice. some will go out of there way to help kids. some teachers could care less about you. there are a lot of intimidating kids, i stay away from them and im fine. ive had things stolen before. gym clothes, a pencil box, and a calculator, total cost...around 135 bucks...school did nothing. the p.e class is terrible, with lack of funding...non athletic and athletic kids are forced into elementary activities which don't help anyone. another problem is the layout of the bathrooms. most teachers wont let kids go to the bathroom...and they expect you to go in between periods, which is only 3 mins. bathrooms are poorly placed and are disgusting. the lack of funding to this school is obvious

Winman Junior High School 4

Posted January 17, 2008
- a student
I am attending Winman as a seventh grader and I agree that the teachers are very nice, and that they guard the halls every morning, but it is not true that children get beaten up in the hall. I have seen one fight in this school and a teacher broke up the fight and the children were sent to the principles office and assigned suspension. As a student the academics of the school are a little under where i accpected them to be. a lot of it is review of 6th grade. Overall i would reccomend Winman to any parent.


Winman Junior High School 2

Posted September 03, 2007
- a parent
My advice would be if you could avoid sending your child to this school do so at all costs. The facility and teachers are very nice but there is a definite problem with violence in this school which administration is turning a blind eye to. My child has been threatened and seen other child beaten up in the hallway. Children are attending this school in fear and nothing is being done. They promise to fix the problem and then do nothing. It has been a horrible experience for our entire family.

Winman Junior High School 5

Posted October 10, 2006
- a student
a great school with great leadership

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winman Junior High School
575 Centerville Rd, Warwick, RI  02886
(401) 734-3375
Last modified Winman Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winman Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top