Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
940 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bishop Hendricken High School 2

Posted April 28, 2016
- a community member
I was a student at this school and did not feel this school is worth the reputation it has. The main priorities of Hendricken are Theology and sports and everything else is pretty much an after thought. First, the academics. Going into my freshman year, I was assigned to read sports books for Honors English and this was constant throughout my four years there. Most people are shocked that I never had to read "Tom Sawyer", "Moby Dick", or "To Kill a Mockingbird" in high school. I did have a very dynamic and influential English teacher for my freshman year and part of my junior year AP English class but he was unfortunately asked to leave by the school administration for getting married without having an annulment. The teachers are pretty underpaid, which is typical for any Catholic school except when you see the money that goes to the sports program. Some were very good and some were pretty much useless. The administration is oppressive and disciplinarian. The atmosphere is very fraternity-esque in the worst sense of the word. The all-male environment meant that most students were insecure with themselves and with each other and had no clue how to deal with the opposite sex, causing them to treat every potentially attractive woman who entered the school (including some of the faculty) as an object (but hey, boys will be boys, am I right?). The arts program is a joke. The school invested a good deal of money into building a theatre program and this was successful from around 2007-2010 when the director left the school. After that it pretty much tanked and no one thinks of it as a theatre school anymore, which is sad. The music program is so/so. The band program was decent but chorus is a waste of time and you won't learn anything. Media and visual arts seem good, however. Looking back, I would not go through this experience again and I'm sorry that my parents spent over $40,000 to send me here. The promise of Hendricken is that you're supposed to come out prepared for college, but upon going to a school where I was expected to think for myself, I did not feel I was ready. On the bright side, you will probably get into most schools you applied to because of the reputation the school has.

Bishop Hendricken High School 3

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Good morning I'm a proud alumni and parent of the school. I was wondering if anyone had any info on an old friend. I'm looking forward to seeing Mr. Sheldon back on campus, when we see this pillar of the community back in hawk land. I believe the principal is lacking the proper skill set to hold such title, and is more warranted as history teacher/cross country coach. My humble opinion.


Bishop Hendricken High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
My son is a sophomore at BHHS and has had an excellent experience thus far. The all male environment allows them great focus on all the critical aspects of a boy's high school education - faith, academics, and extra curricular activities, whether that be their outstanding sports or theater/arts programs. My son is in all honors classes and has had excellent teachers that have always challenged, but have been available to provide extra help when needed. Our few small bumps along the way have been immediately addressed by his teachers and dedicated guidance counselor, and with his involvement. We couldn't be happier with the quality of the school, its administration and faculty - an outstanding Catholic education where they walk the walk.

Bishop Hendricken High School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a community member
I honestly believe my money would have been better applied to college, as a incoming sophomore in college I'm realizing that even in all honors classes Hendricken didn't really prepare me for college. The staff always seems like they have something better to do, only a few really care about students will to learn. Even in the top 30 of my class Hendricken did next to nothing to help me get into colleges. They actually forgot to send an application and sended after the required date which resulted in rejection from that college. Honestly I am disappointed with my experience at Hendricken and I will not be attending my reunions, which are typically bunched with 5 other graduations. This school is for athletes and nothing else.

Bishop Hendricken High School 2

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
I will be a junior and can honestly say this is an OK school but it isn't all it's cracked up to be. I am in honors classes but I don't feel like they challenge me enough, and there aren't many AP classes availible. Also, I feel as if some of the teachers have somewhere better to be. I've made some good friends here, but with all boys in one school, it gets very loud and chaotic at times. Im actually considering transferring to a coed catholic school in RI next year. Hopefully it will be a better experience for me. Everyone is different, and if you want an OK education and high school experience you shoutobago here, but I really wouldn't recommend it to most people.


Bishop Hendricken High School 1

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, we haven't had the same experience as most of the reviews here. I sent my son here in hopes of a superior all boys catholic education, but it hasnt been that way. The teachers weren't very helpful and often get annoyed if you ask them for help. My son also encountered bullying his freshman year because he was into the performing arts. He felt as if only the athletes got attention. I feel as if the tuition we spent here would have been better saved for college. He is now attending another school in RI and has had a MUCH better experience.

Bishop Hendricken High School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
My son is a student at BHHS and will graduate in June. He has already been accepted to two of the "top" colleges in the U.S. He waits to hear from two others. Our experience with Hendricken has been nothing short of outstanding. The education our son has received is worth far more than we've spent on tuition. We would urge any parent to seriously consider Bishop Hendricken for their son's high school education.

Bishop Hendricken High School 3

Posted October 12, 2011
- a student
4 years at bishop Hendricken high school was one of the worst experiences of my life.Few teachers actually taught or cared about what they were doing, the administration especially under the new principal was out of control and did not seem like they knew what they were doing.Placement of funds was spent in places where it should have been used to improve other flaws in the school.The technology was terrible, 1 computer lab in the whole school which we were not even allowed to use half the time.Cafeteria food was disgusting with no healthy options at all.For the money that we were paying, you would think the food would be a little better.There was not a variety of AP classes to choose from and were only allowed to kids with perfect GPA's. There was little opportunity for those in lower classes and only the "smart" and "athletic" kids got attention.I always laughed at when someone on the basketball team would get in trouble and just be able to go to the vice principals office and get everything worked out while others who did the same thing were punished.This school is overall unfair, poorly run, and pays little attention to the education of its students. All they care about is $$$


Bishop Hendricken High School 2

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately I cannot share the same rave reviews as most of the postings here. My son will graduate in June 2010 and I feel that my $40-45K dollars would have been better applied towards college. Having my other child graduate from my city public high school in 2008, I had much to compare as far as education and in almost every aspect I looked at Hendricken came up short. I found the curriculum in the public school to be much more challenging and the faculty to be much more energetic. Both of my children are of equal intelligence so it wasn`t a case of one was smarter than the other and should of had tougher classes. I know that I am in the minority as far as the postings here but if I had a son who wanted to attend Hendricken, now I would not recommend it.

Bishop Hendricken High School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
My son should finish in the top 4% of the class of 2010 - beyond the acedemics he has participated in athletics and the arts. The school has the magic touch - whatever is required to maintain a student body that wants to be in school each day. The process is built on faith, and parents should also have faith that the school produces a quality product - the 'Hendricken Man' - who is ready for college and/or life based on his experiences at Bishop Hendricken. Plus or minus 1000 young men, in jackets and ties, that thrust their hand out to shake yours when they meet you, speaking in complete sentences, expounding comaraderie, most with clear goals ready to take on the world ..... well let's just say it's worth every penney.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop Hendricken High School
2615 Warwick Avenue, Warwick, RI  02889
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (401) 739-3450
Last modified Bishop Hendricken High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top