Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Rose of Lima School

Private | PK-8 | 236 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Warwick

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2010

The teachers are remarkably well-credentialed and experienced. The Principal sets the curriculum for each grade well above public and other Catholic school standards. We are impressed with how the Principal responds with quick, fair action to issues. If Committees propose changes, they're implemented immediately. The Principal is open to and greets suggestions for change with thoughful yet swift action. Incredibly, any possible issue is anticipated and dispatched of before it becomes an issue: a prescient, efficient, forward-thinking leader who doesn't just give lip-service. This school runs like a top and has top-drawer academics: not simply Blind Opinion, we've compared St. Rose to other Catholic, public, and independent schools. St. Rose came out on top. Icing: there's a gym w/ b-ball court & stage (K-8 student productions of Beauty & the Beast & Snow White) and 2 large, brand-new grass playgrounds w/ cool, modern equipment promoting healthy activity. My children love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My daughter started attending St. Rose of Lima this year. She has been challenged academically for the first time in years. The math curriculum is rigorous, and the reading program meets the needs of each individual child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I have been extremely happy with the elementary level through middle school. I am pleased to say that each year the teachers challenge the children more and more. The guided reading program in the early years (K-2) are wonderful as well as the writing and book reports and projects going on in the 4-5th grade years. The HSA is always active in the school and creates fun and interesting things for the families and staff to attend. (Santa's Breakfast, Easter Egg Hunt, Wine Tasting Evening and Golf Outings!) The student council does many things for the community esp. this week raising money for St. Rita's by having a soup dinner. The middle school program far exceeds the local public schools expectations in Mathematics. You can visibly see the drive and energy the teachers and students have together to make St. Rose such a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

I am a parent of a 5th grade student at St. Rose of Lima and I have to say that every teacher has been approachable and easy to meet with if need be. The principal has been wonderful especially in making changes that benefit the school. She goes above and beyond the call of duty and works well with the staff on hand. My child started to come here in 1st grade and every year he looks forward to going back in August not only because he has misses his friends but has missed the teachers, staff and janitor!! It says a lot for a child who dreaded school and now has the love for learning! I am so pleased with the curriculum that St, Rose of Lima school has. Teachers go above and beyond to make sure the students understand the materials- Always thinking out of the BOX!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

I am so very proud to have a grandchild in St.Rose of Lima School. I find that the teachers and staff here are constantly striving to meet the needs of each individual child. The principal works very closely with the teachers to insure quality education. My family is pleased with the experience we have had here at St.Rose . My grandchild will definitely return in the fall .


Posted March 30, 2009

My child has attended St. Rose for 5 years and I have to say, I am always recommending and smiling when I think of this school. My child has grown so much with the help of the staff and principal. The teachers are always consistent and always working hard to meet the needs of the children! i could not be more proud to say my child is a part of the St. Rose community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

We were fortunate enough to have our daughter attend St. Rose of Lima for 6 years. We recently relocated to a county in Northern Virginia that is rated in the top 10% of schools in the Nation. Our daughter's teacher informed us that she is right where she should be with academics and has blended in very well. I believe the teacher's comments were invaluable given it was an unbiased opinion. We believe the transition was easier due to the foundation St. Rose provided our daughter. The faculty, and parent support is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

My daughter is in the Kindergarten program at St. Rose of Lima and I am very happy with the teachers, the curriculum, and the overall program of the school. She will be entering the first grade next year and I know that she is in the right school. It is a caring environment with a rigorous curriculum. My daughter is very happy there and we are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

I strongly disagree with the previous review. The information the parent is working with is old and outdated. The principal is very flexible and has made great strides in improving the middle school program. She has hired a highly qualified math and science teacher who provides many hands on approaches to learning. The newly acquired Spanish teacher is very thorough in her teachings. As a parent with a student in the 7th grade, I can tell you that he is learning about verbs and constructing a proper Spanish sentence. The reading teacher is outstanding. Before one calls another person controlling, they should step back and watch the evolving changes. Whatever decisions that have been made have been done so for the betterment of the school and the students who attend. I have 2 children attending this school and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Very good preK to 5th grade. Once the students reach the middle school years, the school is sorely lacking. The science program does not include any sort of hands on lab experience. Foreign language is limited to Spanish and it is a very limited instruction basically colors, numbers, very basic spoken instruction. No verb conjugations etc. The math program does not prepare students for high school. Unfortunately the principal is very controlling and unwilling to listen to input by parents. It is her way or no way in everthing which is sad be
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 67%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 8% 19%
Black 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Brentwood Ave
Warwick, RI 02886
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 739-6937

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

John Wickes School
Warwick, RI


Lippitt School
Warwick, RI




Greenwood School
Warwick, RI


Park School
Warwick, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT