Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
7-8
Public district
West Greenwich, RI
Students enrolled: 290
 

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Very bad school. To much favoritism from teachers such as Mr Blake. I'm not impressed

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School 4

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
We had a great experience at EWG Junior High School. We were not local to the area when our child started at the elementary school, and by the time he was in junior high he knew everyone in the school and had a great time with his projects and classes. The teachers were good with communication and parental involvement was encouraged regularly. I feel our child grew tremendously during his years at this school, both academically and socially. I would highly recommend EWGJHS!


Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The EWG Junion High is a terrific school! The teachers are professional, caring, and always have the student's best interests in mind. My child is thriving there and loves going to school there every day. Keep up the good work, EWG Junior High!

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School
no rating

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
I would just like to clear the air because many of these reviews are old and need updating. Many of the teachers are very commited to the students. Especially Mrs. Livsey, she is always staying after or making arrangements to help students, she is very understanding to accomidating to students who have family issues, learning problems, or have come from differant backgrounds than other students, but is also helpful to normal students. She cares so much about her students. There are a few teachers who are not 100% fair. But the principal, Mr.Thomson is amazing and always makes sure things and if the students are having problems with the teahcers he is always there to help. He is deciated, caring, and is more than just a principal to students. He is very easy for them to relate to and he understands students very well.

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2008
- a parent
The school is 'Ok'. I am not impressed, and think the rating academically is inflated due to lack of affordable housing in the area. There is a lot of favoritism given to inept teachers who will remain in the system because they 'know someone'. There is also a lack of understanding toward children that don't come from the standard suburb, part time working mom, dad supporting the family kind of environment. There is very little understanding of anyone or anything that is different than the white picket fence family life.


Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School 2

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
I like the looping program that allows students to stay with the same team for two years. My child has had some wonderful, caring and skilled teachers. The music program is integrated into the school day and is very good due to the commitment of the directors. The arts and sports programs are lacking. This rater assesses the principal's leadership abilities as poor. He/she does not appear to challenge teachers even when it would be in the best interest of the student and family/school relationship. The principal appears unable to fully understand individual student issues and often simply refers to policy manuals and their jargon to side step important issues. My child had done well at this school, but he/she would likely do well anywhere and perhaps better at another school. In looking at this schools performance on state testing, clearly there is need to improve the quality of academic programs.

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School 2

Posted September 30, 2004
- a parent
I cannot express the level of disappointment my family has with Exter-West Greenwich Junior High. Staying after school does require learning disability. We encounted many teachers not committed to the education of the children. There are problems in this school that should get immediate attention.

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School 2

Posted September 13, 2004
- a parent
EWG lacks originality in its programs and implementation. They are dinosaurs in technology and require very little academically to remain on sports teams. Very often a simple solution becomes mired down in what is labeled 'policy' or 'procedure'. ie: Staying after for homework help requires a government accepted learning disability. If I could afford the move to a town that offers more variety and less status quo, I would do so in a heartbeat.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School
930 Nooseneck Hill Rd, West Greenwich, RI  02817
(401) 397-6897
Last modified Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Exeter-West Greenwich Regional Junior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top