Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Warwick

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

St. Joseph in West Warwick is a lovely school with devoted principal, teachers, staff, students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

I am a parent of a student at St. Joe's. Let me begin by saying the teachers are phenomenal. Their expertise continues to amaze me. They are the gems of this truly unique school. Your child will receive an excellent rigorous education that far exceeds the tuition here. The students are given a classic education which includes religion and morality. There are a high percentage of involved stable families who send their children here. The athletic programs are also very good. There are many reasons to send your child here. The first and foremost reason is to keep Christ as the center of all that we do. I believe that is why so many people love this school and it has been in existence for many years. Do not hesitate to send your child to this school for a classic and well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

St Joes is a great School, the teach respect, morals and strong values. My daughter started at age 3 with the preschool . I am proud to say she went onto LaSalle Academy and had just started her freshman year at Providence College. St Joeseph's was the foundation for her success. The teaches are committed to the students. We always felt part of a family there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

As a former student of this school- I can tell you that this was a wonderful place to grow up as a student. (except for the nuns- but that was back in the 60's) St. Joe's always made me feel like family and I wish I never had to leave. Public schools are a nightmare and if I had a child- I would only send them here and then straight to prout or hendriken. (and then to BC) Public schools are a nightmare and filled with gangs and thugs. If you have children- please send them to catholic school- they will save your child from a life of thugs and low grades.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 20, 2011

St. Joseph School teaches good morals and values to our future leaders of America. Never have I known a more welcoming community with teachers who inspire their children to do their best. There are numerous activities for children to participate in, ranging from athletics to personal interest. St. Joseph School could be the best decisision you ever make for your child.


Posted March 1, 2010

As a long time teacher of St. Joseph School and a parent of two girls who attended St Joseph's, I am extremely pleased with the excellent foundation that they received. Both of my daughters went on to honors' classes in high school and were named Cranston's Finest. Both also received scholarships to college. I attribute this to the strong base of education they received at St. Joeph School. A dedicated, caring, loving and professional faculty and staff are all part of this great school. We are thankful for our pastor, Father Charles, who is a strong and everpresent leader. May God bless him!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2010

My child attended Saint Joes Pre k to grade 8. She is about to gradute from High School. Her foundation that she received from Saint Joes has enriched her life. The pastor is someone you can talk to.He is a down to earth person. The teachers and staff are there to help. They run alot of fundraisers to help with the cost such as a wonderful gift certificate program that gives you money back for buying groceries and things. Excellant program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I have had the privilege of being involved with St. Joseph School for the past five years. I am amazed every day how incredibly innovative and challenging the school is for it's students. The amazing support of the pastor and the dynamic leadership of the parents, staff and parish community are what makes St. Joseph the top rated school that it has become. ALL of the families and professionals involved in the education of our children work hand in hand with each other to create a warm, safe, nurturing, and rigorous school that ensures that our chidlren are prepared to become leaders in our world. Thanks to the strong commitment of our pastor we are growing and getting better every day.


Posted February 25, 2010

The tuition rate is one of the lowest in the state. It cost West Warwick $16,000 to educate one child in the public school systems. St. Joseph School can educate a child for 4,100! The children learn, so much even computers, spanish. The science and math is cutting edge our children learn at their own speed. A very large percentage of the children have gone on to attend Catholic High Schools. They are leaders, teachers, and doctors. The families here quickly became our best friends. The Teachers are long standing and a fresh face mix with tons of energy and ideas. They are here because they believe in the mission of St. Joseph School. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

I am a mother of two. One or both of my children have been going to this school for 6 years. I love it. The teachers are great and the St. Joseph school community is wonderful. I feel that you are allowed to be as involved as you want to be in your childrens education and in the schools activities. I love all the extra things the school does with and for the children.. Would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Not only is this a fantasic school educationally but it is such a warm community. The church and school are hand and hand. The children learn computer and spanish on a full time basis. The PTG works so hard to make everyone feel welcome right from the start. I'm so glad we chose to switch to St. Joseph School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Makes my children reach to achieve goals, along with establishing great morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Great education, morals and values, great teachers. I love the fact that this school not only gives my child a great education but also teaches her to give back to her community and to others. I love the fact that my child is somewhat bilingual which is so important in todays world. After graduation the teachers still want to know how children our doing and how well they are excelling. This has been a great decision to keep my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The teachers, community and all the extras!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

St. Joseph School is the best school! the teachers and staff care very much about about children as well as their grades and are commited to help then become the best they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I went to St. Joseph's School from pre-k-8th grade.. and it was the best decision my parents ever made! I hope that St. Joseph School with still be around when I have children of my own!


Posted November 4, 2009

Best education, moral values, great teachers, and the list could go on. This school strives to get children not only to reach their goals but to surpass them in both academics and values. I am proud to be apart of it and can tell you that my child is advanced in all subjects when compared to the majority in the country. Also, she is just about bilingual in two languages. St. Joseph's prepares our children for a successful future, a truly wonderful accomplishment!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

It a wonderful school with a warm, friendly community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

My son is a second grader at St. Joseph's School. He is receiving the best education along with stong morals and values. Not even to mention the spiritual values of a Catholic School. I feel that the entire environment of St Joseph's is a 'family'. Smaller classrooms, one on one interaction, teachers that truly care about my son. How many parents can say that they have their childs teachers cell phone number??
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 64%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Providence
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Wakefield Street
West Warwick, RI 02893
Phone: (401) 821-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



John F. Horgan School
West Warwick, RI


Oak Lawn School
Cranston, RI



Nfiace Program
Cranston, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT