Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-5
Public
Woonsocket, RI
Students enrolled: 269

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Citizens Memorial School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
The school has planned a year of events and workshops for the parents which mean they care for the students and parents. Money is always an issue in schools but teachers always do their best. They also have a great after school program.

Citizens Memorial School 2

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
Appears to be issues with teacher turnover and financial drain at this school. Also notice the students are suspended quite frequently.


Citizens Memorial School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
The teachers in this school go above and beyond their duties putting the children first. As a parent I feel very comfortable with the principle and teachers. We all work together to give our children the best education possible.

Citizens Memorial School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
This is a school that truely cares about the students. Students are viewed as individuals and are held to the highest expectations. Teachers take the time to communicate with parents and many attend evening events.

Citizens Memorial School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a teacher
Citizens' Memorial is now Moderately Performing and Commended for the second year in a row. The expectations are clear and the goals are high! Keep up the good work!


Citizens Memorial School 3

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
I don't find my childs teacher very communicative.

Citizens Memorial School 5

Posted July 06, 2005
- a student
I think that Citizens' is the best school in the whole city. In the last two years they have only had 2 principals, Mrs.Rollins, and Mrs. Ferranti. Even though the school has failed to meet the state or city standards, I believe that it is still a good school. Also, The Crusades program is located at this school and it is an excellent program. If I were you I would send your child here. Also, Mrs.Ferranti is taking a year off for personal reasons so she will not be with the school next year but I am sure that whoever is there will be one of the greatest principals in the city, Garanteed.

Citizens Memorial School 2

Posted March 16, 2005
- a parent
In two years this school has had three principal's all having different agenda's for the teachers as well as the students. The academic programs are unsuccesful, last year Citizen's didn't meet the state standards and so far I haven't seen much improvement. Due to this stastic they have lost their funding and simply don't have the money for extracurricular activities such as sports. There are two low-income projects nearby, and these families make up most of the school's population. Therefore they are either too busy working, home tending to younger children, or unaware as to how importatant their participation is. I don't know if their is hope for this school, I would hate to think not, but it's so hard when you see so many others just giving up.


Citizens Memorial School 5

Posted February 28, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Citizens Memorial School
250 Winthrop St, Woonsocket, RI  02895
(401) 767-4850
Last modified Citizens Memorial School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Citizens Memorial School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top