Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woonsocket Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1258 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2011

As someone said before me, its not the teachers the problem, its the students and they are not being respectfull with the teachers. My daughter loves the school but not the other students, she does not feel respect here, thats why we are moving back to MA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

This school is not that bad.Most of the teachers are good.The problem is not with the teachers but the students.There are a few bad teachers but overall the students don't behave well.They talk back to the teachers and cause a lot of trouble.And it is not the fault of the parents because they can't sit with their children all day at school seeing how they act.They can only talk to them at home and hope theyb listen to them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2009

This is the worst school ever! I am moving back to mass to save my child from this place. It has been nothing but a constant battle with everything. I am deeply upset with the way my child has been treated by poor faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

this school is boring it leads to the lack of respect and the teachers don't repect sometimes i dont reccemend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

I am a proud parent of a student who attends wms. My son is in his third year and overall his experience has been great. The problem is not the Staff, Teachers or Admin, it is the kids. When kids are taught to go to school to do their job which is to learn and mind their business and keep to themselves, they would not have any trouble. This building is the largest middle school in RI, and it is being handled in the best ways possible. It is not an easy job but there are many within the walls of the building who do their best to assist the students in their education and to get them ready for their lives ahead. If the parents need to come together with the teachers , counselors and Admin.This school is much better than people make it out to be!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This is my daughters first year at this school and I am already looking to put her in a different school for the next school year. I do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

My son is on his second year here and overall the school is pretty good. The teachers are caring and do what they can to teach the ones that are willing to be taught. I feel that most of the parents aren't doing their part at home to properly prepare their children for school, especially in the discipline area. The teachers are there to educate our children..not to babysit. The lack of respect these students have for their teachers directly reflects on the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

This is our 2nd year at WMS. I've been hugely impressed by the leadership, faculty and staff. Their effort and dedication as left me amazed. I've always found the administration and teachers friendly, available, and willing to go the extra mile. There is an extraordinary lack of parent involvement; despite well publicized opportunities and the, apparently, numerous complaints. In my opinion, there are tremendous opportunities in extracurricular and after school activities as well; for those students and parents choosing to take advantage of them. The academics, again in my opinion, do suffer. I don't feel my son has been challenged in this area at all. The school, as well as individual teachers (and my own efforts at home, on occasion) have provided him with some excellent resources and experiences. The educational difficulties, and the discipline issues, seem due to the size and diversity of the school's population. This continues to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

My daughter recieved high honors during all 3 years at the WMS, and my overall experience with them is a positive one. Whenever there was a problem (no school is perfect), the staff was very eager to work with me on it and were able to resolve it in a timely manner. The biggest problem that the school has is the lack of discipline that parents enforce on their own children. They allow their children to speak to teachers as they would their classmates. Then when the teachers fail to teach the children, they fault the teachers. The 'area' is not a bad one, as I've lived in the neighborhood of the school for 10 years and have only seen 2 fights on the street during that timeframe...police regularly monitor the streets around the school to keep them safe. The traffic is an issue and parent/teacher conferences is handled poorly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I think that this has to be the worst school I have ever heard of. The teachers try their hardest but a majority of the students do not. It is very sad the professionalism that the teachers are capable of showing but can't because of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

My son has been attending 6th grade for over seven months now in all the 'honor' classes. While playing a game I asked him to convert 1/3 into a decimal. He told me that he never learned how to do this without the use of a calculator. This is coming from a sixth grader who just received the Math Achievement award and student of the quarter twice in a row! If dividing 1 by 3 is beyond the scope of what is being taught I truely question the teachers credentials. I will be moving my son to another district so that he will be given a better education without the constant threat of being beaten by other students. Talking with the teachers is useless because they feel discouraged because 90% of the students talk back and don't give any effort (30% test scores is common).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

I think the WMS is a very unsafe school for the students and teachers. The children are running the school. The parents of the children are also to blame. I am a mother of a student there, a very unhappy mother. The school policy should probably need to be revised, especially when you are being punnished for self defense... The teachers are also to blame when they are aware of the problems and they take no action. The WMS needs discipline and a lot of work. The germs are starting to spread and everyone is getting affected...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

I don't know what all this grief is about. WMS recently got a new principal whose enforcing all rules and discipline codes. The after-school programs are very good, sponsored by 21st Century. The teachers try their hardest to teach. Maybe if people saw our school from our point of view, there'd be changes.There are good kids who try their hardest, they just aren't seen or heard over all this gossip and put-downs. -A WMS student
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

This has to be the worst school my daughter has ever been in. I am currently working on moving, to have the ability to remove her from the school. I have seen of and heard of mentally challenged children being yelled at. They treat children like they are nothing. These kids are just a paycheck to them. WHAT A SHAME. These teachers actually earned a degree and get paid to be ignorant and treat our children badly. The worst part is unless we remove our children from that place, there is nothing at all we can do about it. Trust me, I have tried.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

Not enough communication with parents from the school employee's. BAD drop off & Pick up routines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

School is average. The area is a rough one. My child has to walk 40 mintues to get to school. When I spoke to the school they refused to let him get on a bus. The school is not flexable at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

There are too many children and too few resources. This school maintains a high level of discipline. It's a shame that they don't provide as high a level of academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2004

There are not enough resources for the students and/or teachers to learn/teach to their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

I think that this school is way too overpopulated to give a quality education to the students. Furthermore, through experience, the staff do not adress the needs of children with IEP goals, they simply maintain them in the enviornment. They seem to be very fond of discipline but put forth no support or effort to what the underlying problems may be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

i feel this school has too many children to give each child the best possible education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

459 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

453 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

365 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

351 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
10%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2014.

346 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students46%
Female46%
Male45%
Black or African American39%
Asian80%
Hispanic or Latino36%
Multiracial41%
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged students41%
Not economically disadvantaged students63%
Title I30%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English49%
Not migrant46%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 118%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male54%
Black or African American58%
Asian80%
Hispanic or Latino54%
Multiracial59%
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged students56%
Not economically disadvantaged students72%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant59%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 136%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students43%
Female46%
Male41%
Black or African American30%
Asian65%
Hispanic or Latino29%
Multiracial31%
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged students40%
Not economically disadvantaged students53%
Title I25%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)9%
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant43%

Reading

All Students58%
Female68%
Male50%
Black or African American61%
Asian70%
Hispanic or Latino43%
Multiracial63%
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged students55%
Not economically disadvantaged students69%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)10%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Math

All Students35%
Female35%
Male37%
Black or African American30%
Asian58%
Hispanic or Latino24%
Multiracial43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged students30%
Not economically disadvantaged students50%
Title I9%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant35%

Reading

All Students58%
Female62%
Male55%
Black or African American63%
Asian62%
Hispanic or Latino45%
Multiracial61%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged students52%
Not economically disadvantaged students71%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant58%

Writing

All Students38%
Female53%
Male25%
Black or African American48%
Asian46%
Hispanic or Latino29%
Multiracial46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged students35%
Not economically disadvantaged students44%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English38%
Not migrant38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Rhode Island used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing, and in grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. GreatSchools ratings currently reflect 2013 test data; the ratings will be updated when the latest NECAP science data is made public and available in the summer of 2014. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Rhode Island. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Rhode Island Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 64%
Hispanic 30% 22%
Black 10% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Florence Dr
Woonsocket, RI 02895
Phone: (401) 767-4753

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Viola M Berard School
Woonsocket, RI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT