Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Catholic School

Private | 3-8 | 189 students

We foster the spiritual,academic,physical, social, emotional growth of students.

 
 

Living in Woonsocket

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 28, 2012

Good Shepherd Catholic Regional School is very proud of our standards towards both professionalism and our teaching of high moral values. We are happy to have the support of the pastors of our member parishes which is a testament to our ability to uphold these standards throughout our school year. The safety of our students and staff is of utmost importance to us. Our Principal and staff have provided many years of longevity which is clearly indicative of their dedication to our students, families, parishes and communities. With that being said, we live in an ever changing world that Good Shepherd strives to stay well informed and in tune with the constant demands of that scenario. Although we strive to provide the best to our families our decisions are not always popular but will withstand the test of time to provide every student a safe, healthy, faithful and enriching environment. We, at Good Shepherd are always open to constructive criticism so that we can grow and adapt to the constant demands of a fully accredited and outstanding academic environment. We open our hearts to those that need love, when we open the avenues for their itellects to flourish.

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

My school is okay depends how long you've been there I've only been here for six years some years were not fun and If you have a problem or some one is bullying DO NOT tell the teachers they don't do anything but tell you to go somewhere quiet talk that out but that doesn't help all the time.... Besides that and that some kids are really snobby and rude the school is pretty cool............


Posted June 25, 2012

I highly recommend this school for academics and morals, Individualized attention and everything I want for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

well where do I start. I send my kid there to learn good morals and a high standard of professionalism. I figured if my son was exposed to good role models such as his teachers and the priest he would be fine. It has been a nightmare. the principal is truly a mean spirited individual who orders his teachers to crucify my son for things he did last year and before under the term "track record". My son got hit and punched but he was punished. His track record spoke for him. They nitpick and give detention for speaking without holding arm out. I mean detention!!! How about detention for using too many hand towels. My son was suspended for two days for accumulating many detentions for these kind of infractions. The principal even told my son he wished that he weren't in his school as a student. They collectively punish a kid because they meet and discuss their students with each other. what an awful environment. looking for an alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

This school has nothing from the "A great school has:" list. They treat my son terribly for no good reason, and he gets in trouble for the dumbest things, that any other school would call "Kids playing". He said kids got detention from touching snow, and from walking on ice. If there are even the smallest puddles outside, recess is cancelled, Their lunch system makes no sense, the work assigned is way eaiser than it should be. The teachers and principal have also been rude and unhelpful towards me on the phone, and my son has told me that after the principal and I were done talking, he muttered something about wasting his time. I also know my son isn't lying, because he isn't spoiled or bad-tempered, and I can tell he really means it. I would rather have my kids in boot camp for the year, and this school is definitely not worth the money. If you read this and still bring your son/daughter to this school, I warned you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

There does seem to be truth in what your saying. i.e. when there are limited spaces for a club or group it is evident whose child/children will be picked. This is a great school, but that is a rather unfortunate aspect of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I attended Good Shepherd last year, and am now attending Mount Saint Charles Academy, and the things that I learned in that school is not any different than what I am learning now. The teachers are amazing, and gear to prepare their students for highschool. That is exactly what they do. the school is small and very close, were more of a family than a school. It is simply amazing !! If I could I would go back.


Posted July 13, 2008

Good Shepherd is a wonderful school. The work load may be a lot, but you learn so much there that it does not matter. This is my 4th year at Good Shepherd and I have hardly any complaints about it at all. K.W.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

Overall I am happy with this school. It is by far better than the public schools. However, it can be very 'clicky'. If you are on the PTO or are a former students you can do whatever and get away with breaking dress codes etc. You get picked for all the chaperone openings and your kids get picked for all the best jobs/roles available. I often feel looked down upon because I am a single mom and we get help with tuition. My child loves her friends and I do feel it is better than a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

I have two sons who attend Good Shepherd Catholic School. I highly recommend this school to any parent. The principal and teaching staff is wonderful, friendly and very caring. The work load for the students is sometimes heavy but the amount of knowledge the students are taught is very impressive. My sons have learned so much. They truly love this school. We all wish this school would go up to 12th grade! - S. Pacheco
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

This school is the probably the best run school my 2 daughters ahve ever attended. THe principal takes a very pro-active interest in his students. All of the teachers are caring, nuturing indivuals. There is nothing this principal or teachers won't do to straighten any problems out. THe students agrenda which is required to be signed every Thursday keep you in touch. Parents and teachers communciate through this agrenda and its a great tool. All schools should use this. Try it, if you're intested.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2004

My son attends Good Shepherd. It is a wonderful, caring and nuturing school. I would highly recommend this school particularly to parents in the Woonsocket area. This school is a great alternative to the Woonscoket Public Schools. I only wish it went to 12th. grade. It is also very reasonably priced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My biggest problem with the school is the lack of communication between the teachers and parents. The teachers assume that the child will come home and remember all the necessary information to a homework assignment and/or project.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Asian 6% N/A
Black 2% 9%
Hispanic 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: all
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 3:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Lawrence Poitras, Jr.,Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (401) 767-5905

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Woonsocket Education Department
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Community service
  • Dance club: all
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Msgr. Gadoury Catholic Regional School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Parish Subsidies and Diocesan Aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mt. St. Charles Academy
Woonsocket High School
Local area high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1210 Mendon Rd
Woonsocket, RI 02895
Website: Click here
Phone: (401) 767-5906

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Leo A. Savoie School
Woonsocket, RI




Viola M Berard School
Woonsocket, RI


Hamlet Learning Center
Woonsocket, RI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT