Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 1

Posted February 01, 2016
- a parent
Stay away! We had a lot of problems with bullying at this school, not only by students but by teachers as well. It went so far as one teacher putting his hand around my sons throat. The administration tried to sweep it under the rug, despite the teacher admitting to it, but once we filed charges they decided to let him go. That is one part of it. Also, my son started there in 4th grade and went part of the year in 5th. He is still reading at a 3rd grade level. So he never advanced the entire time he was there. He also went the first 3 months of 5th grade without a math book despite he and is asking for one multiple times. They did not seem as concerned for his education however, but mostly concerned for his behavior. The final time he was written up, I received a call stating that my son had gotten in trouble for trying to take a paper off another students desk. It wasn't until I got home and he informed me that after trying to take the paper, the other student knocked him down and began to hit and kick him. Of course, this was never mentioned to me during the call. All in all, while this school seemed ideal for its small class sizes it didn't help at all. That coupled with an administration that covers up bullying and participates themselves, it was just a horrible experience.

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 1

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
I am fully convince this school only exists to reap Title One incentives. The school operates on its own agenda.


Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
My child has never brought home a single sheet of homework. They do it in class and turn it right back in, so I have no idea what she is learning.

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
A certain teacher talks about my child to other classes in a negative way. This same teacher also discusses current events with the children and attempts to push her extreme views on them. 5th graders do not need a teacher to push her views about Baltimore, Ferguson, the president or abortion on them!

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
LKCS, is a wonderful school! It makes educating your children their TOP priority. Teacher/student ratio is EXCELLENT!! This allows your child to get the much needed attention and understanding when learning the school curriculum. School interaction with keeping parents informed and involved is well received as well as having student involved activities through out the year. Highly Recommend Lloyd Kennedy Charter School!!


Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School is a great option for children attending public school in Aiken County, South Carolina. My son is a 5th grader and my daughter an 8th grader and the small class sizes allow the teachers and staff to really get to know my children and their strengths and weaknesses. Also because they are a charter school and smaller than most schools they are able to address and come up with ways to help manage a child's weaknesses while capitalizing on their strengths. The Administration has always been open to our family's suggestions and responded quickly and positively to any concerns or feedback we have. I am thankful for this alternative to the larger public school classroom for my children's education.

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
It is a wonderful environment! A great option if you are looking for a smaller learning environment.

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
When my child attended this school it was as an academically gifted and talented student. She performed very well and the teachers adjusted her course work to make it more challenging. My second child is currently attending this year and he has a learning disability. The teachers are following his IEP accommodations and he is finally thriving. There are always two sides to a story. I have been very satisfied with this school and would encourage any parent to enroll their child.


Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 1

Posted July 27, 2012
- a parent
Not a school for a gifted child. If your child is behind this is the school or if your child has a disability this is the school. I wish I never took my baby here. No cafeteria no sports and only one English teacher for 6th-12th grade.

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School 5

Posted October 27, 2009
- a teacher
This is an amazing school. The teachers and staff are dedicated and the facilty is top of the line. This school is a great addition to the Aiken County Public School system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School
222 Beaufort St, Aiken, SC  29801
(803) 644-4824
Last modified Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 3-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lloyd-Kennedy Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top