Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a teacher
I LOVE this school!!! If you are looking for a small environment with a staff who will truly care about your child, this is the school for you. The students are exposed to various forms of performing arts and fully participate in several productions each year. The students are provided a well rounded education and a high school experience that prepares them for college. I would encourage you to check out the graduation statistics and see how many of the graduates end up going to college. I would also add that I love charter schools because they have the ability to rid a class of bad teachers expeditiously.

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 5

Posted April 05, 2015
- a parent
My child is new to the school this year. We decided to enroll him after encountering problems at the bigger traditional schools. My husband and I were impressed with the school's high Report Card rating on the State Department of Education's website. We also noted the school has received several Palmetto Gold Awards for Excellence. Still, we were a little skeptical at first and went on the school tour and met with the Administrative staff before making our decision to enroll. So far, we have been very satisfied with our choice. Our child enjoys going to school each day and the teachers are always available. We now recommend this school to everyone.


Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 1

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
Quite possibly the worst excuse for a school in all of the CSRA. Students receive no discipline, many of the teachers are not state certified, and I can tell you from experience, they fire a teacher at least every other month. It's not a stable environment for the children. The curriculum is pitiful. My daughter would come home from school everyday and tell me that her class sat for 45 minutes talking with the teacher about the new rapper or something like that, instead of learning. The kid's grades show it. They learn nothing and then they take the state test and do awful. Please, if you want your child to have a future, don't send them here.

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 4

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Wow, I am a parent and after reading the bitter comments below I am shocked. The Aiken Performing Arts Academy has received three Palmetto Gold Awards from the State Department of Education. That rating is based in part on student standardized tests scored by the State, teacher certification, student graduation rates, etc. I have always found the staff to be very concerned with my children's education. They are always fair even when disgruntled parents have tried to bully staff and teachers in order to get their way. Charter school is all about choice. I choose to send my children to an award winning school where people with long standing careers in the School District educate them with care. It's a GREAT school!

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a community member
If I could give this school negative stars, I would. It is a family run business. If they have an argument with a teacher, they fire said teacher instead of working it out like adults. They have a framed portrait of Obama in the conference room, even though you're not supposed to include politics in school. I am a freshman in college, and if I had not escaped this horrible school, I probably would not be in college. This school does nothing to prepare you for the real world. There is no discipline. Please, do not consider this school if you want your child to have a shot at life.


Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 1

Posted October 21, 2013
- a community member
The students at this school are not receiving an education. They do not require any of the teachers to be state certified and do not have a qualified guidance counselor handling grades. Furthermore, administration has access to all the teachers grade and attendance records and often changes these to make it appear as if students are passing, learning, or in attendance when they are actually not. The fundraising money does not go to the teachers for education-enhancing supplies. There is no discipline system, and students are aware of this and take advantage of it. There have been many bullying incidents that were not handled properly or at all. This school accepts students who's only other choice is alternative school. Parents are not allowed to sit in on classes or visit campus at all without approval and accompaniment of administration. You may NOT observe your child in class! If you want your child to be in a safe and educational environment, this school is not for you.

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 1

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
Performing arts academy in name only. Performances are created in-house and are usually hard to follow or understand. Additionally, students graduate totally unprepared academically for college. Don't stake your child's future on an "education" from this school

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter 1

Posted April 17, 2008
- a student
This school may seem to be everything a parent would want for their children but inside those four walls are a bunch of childish ways and unworthy staff. This school lacks that certain kind of educational needs and lacks the enthusiasm and emotional support students need to be the best they can be. If you want my opinion then run. Run as far and as fast as you can. And don't look back.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter
363 Laurens St, Aiken, SC  29801
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (803) 644-4824
Last modified Aiken Performing Arts Academy Charter is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top