Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Aiken, SC
Students enrolled: 1,481
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Aiken High School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Our first impression of Aiken High was not the best: it seemed crowded, impersonal, and we worried about the social dynamics our kids -- having some social difficulties -- might face but, with time, we found AHS was a perfect fit. Our son attends and has excelled both academically and socially. He used to 'close up' academically in middle school -- easily grasping concepts but not doing his work or turning it in. Now he is a top student, unafraid to challenge himself and is taking advanced honors courses and excelling. He used to withdrawl socially. Now he deals with each day 'face-forward' and is interested in others' ideas and beliefs. We can't recommend this school enough, look forward to the further opportunities that will be offered him, and have no hesitation about our other children attending.

Aiken High School 1

Posted May 06, 2013
- a student
bullying! Teachers do nothing about the bullying. They just tell the students to ignore it and they will stop. News Flash it doesn't work especially on the north side kids!


Aiken High School 4

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
I attended AHS in the 70ty and it was one of the best hight schools in the state. We get out school what we put into school, you can blame the thachers if you want to, but it is the students that make it work or not work. If you do your part you will get one of the best hight school educatinos in the state of S.C.. Just wanted to say thanks to all of the teachers that put so much in me.

Aiken High School 4

Posted January 30, 2012
- a student
Loved Aiken High when I was there! If you don't excel here, it's because you're lazy. Plain and simple. And I say that as someone who was lazy in high school but excelled greatly in college. Overall, the teachers are very good and work well with the students.

Aiken High School 1

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
This is truly an awful school. I have been to schools in third world countries that are better maintained and have more up to date equipment. The student advisors are overworked and unless your child is a discipline problem or a 4.0 student you will receive no help at all. The german program is great but unfortunately that is the only program in the school that is worth mentioning.


Aiken High School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
I am truly impressed by the German Program. Both my children are taking German right now and they love it.

Aiken High School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Aiken High School 5

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
AHS is a wonderful high school. When we relocated to this area, we considered living in Aiken, Augusta, and even Lexington. We found that AHS offers our son everything he needs. He has excellent teachers who challenge and inspire him, he has met great friends who are good kids, and he participates in meaningful extracurricular activities. We feel confident that his experiences at AHS will have him well-prepared for college.


Aiken High School 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
If you want a great education, you can get one at Aiken High!

Aiken High School 4

Posted April 16, 2007
- a student
Aiken High School is what you want to make it. If your there to learn, that is what you will find. But if your there for drama you will find that too. I aslo find that many teachers do not care about teaching, but the few who actually care make up for all of the others. So overall it depends on what you want from Aiken High School in order to fight that if your looking for the bad it will be found , but so will the good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aiken High School
449 Rutland Dr, Aiken, SC  29801
(803) 641-2500
Last modified Aiken High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Aiken High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top