Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aiken Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 807 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

I attended Aiken Elementary as a child. When it came time for my own child to attend school, we made sure we were zoned for Aiken El. Things have changed drastically. We gave the teachers and administration multiple chances to challenge our child and to answer our concerns. Administrators especially only seemed to care that children were following the strict rules--who gave a darn about their education. Any attempts to encourage challenging my child were met with confusion. "Why do you care so much? Your child is ahead!" Yes, and I'd like my child to STAY ahead, thanks very much. There were multiple behavior problems in the classroom, including 6 year olds dropping the F bomb, hitting teachers, throwing objects, and receiving little to no punishment. Teacher quality is hit or miss. I saw many instances where teachers behaved with little concern for professionalism. One particular incident was a kindergarten teacher screaming at a parent in car line who's child was mistakenly put on a bus: "Move on! It ain't like she's even here!" I ended up pulling my child out after the Christmas break. We are very happy in our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

Aiken El had gone down since the new principal. Everyone complained about Cagle.. now with her being retired, this Becky lady is a mess. ALL parents and TEACHERS now miss the water since the well hasd run dry. Becky blows parents off, doesn't make teachers produce lesson plans or upload fusion pages.She tols a preant that lesson plans aren't fro parents to look at .. really well check out Hammon Hill website ALL grades have lesson plans posted from day one until the lst day of school. Aiken El is not what it use to be.. sorry leadership . They always say students can learn from each other.. AIken El need to learn from Hammond Hill.. ONE OF THE top schools in SC
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 18, 2011

Aiken Elementary LEAVES children BEHIND!! Was new to the area- heard that this was one of the best schools in the area. NOT!! It has a very RIGID environment, NOT WELCOMING or caring at all!! If your child needs any special or extra help with anything... GOOD LUCK getting it!! They will just be LEFT BEHIND to FAIL- and you will NOT HEAR ANYTHING from the teachers until you see it on the report card. Don't bother asking to talk to the principal- apparenlty she doesn't deal with parents! Seriously??!!! And the asst. principal is a waste of breathable airspace!! Sure they have some awards- as long as you don't expect much and don't care to be involved- and as long as your child fits in to their "normal" standards- you'll do just fine. The best care/concern my child received was when she had a poison ivy rash and went to the nurse's office!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Mrs. Cagle is a poor leader. The teachers compete instead of working as a team. There is a bullying problem. The teachers don't monitor the playground at recess and there are many fights. The school is overcrowded. Mrs. Bishop (office staff) is rude and not welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

We do not recommend Aiken Elementary due to the poor quality of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

We have experienced every grade at Aiken El. with three of our four children. This is a well run school that provides an excellent education for children. My daughters have loved each teacher and it has been a great experience to work alongside these teachers in the education of my children. I feel that Aiken Elementary deserves an A+ for a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My child attended Aiken Elementary for the kindergarten and first grade years and learned so much. The environment at that level was enriching, inviting, and stimulating. The teachers at all levels were delightful. However, the overall climate of the administration of the school was not welcoming to special needs or learning disabled children. I could not continue sending my child there, knowing that in the future, my child would not perform well on standardized testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Aiken Elementary has dedicated teachers with a highly motivated principal. Expectations are set high and teachers/students are expected to achieve. No Child Left Behind started way before President Bush at Aiken Elementary and the current climate in South Carolina Legislature is going to really hurt the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

i personally loved aiken el. before the new principal ms. cagle came there. the atmosphere there is not like it used to be( before she got there.)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 20, 2004

We love Aiken Elementary. We have experienced every grade except K5 at least once. The teachers are wonderful in every grade. The school is very well run. I feel like my children are getting an excellent, well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

I think this school is awesome. My child loves this school. She always comes home saying how much fun she had what all the cool stuff she did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Great school. I wish my child could go there through the 12th grade. The teachers make this school.


Posted April 18, 2003

Great School to volunteer and be involved.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled25%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
African-American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled8%
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%

Science

All Students66%
Female61%
Male69%
African-American44%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals42%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%

Writing

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
African-American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled15%
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled23%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%

Math

All Students80%
Female83%
Male75%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled8%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant80%

Science

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled15%
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%

Social Studies

All Students79%
Female80%
Male77%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled15%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant79%

Writing

All Students78%
Female85%
Male70%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled15%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled40%
Not disabled94%
English language learners90%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled33%
Not disabled92%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%

Science

All Students69%
Female71%
Male66%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals46%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant69%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
African-American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled17%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Writing

All Students81%
Female88%
Male74%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled33%
Not disabled89%
English language learners90%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 53%
Black 37% 36%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 641-2526

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 Pinelog Rd
Aiken, SC 29803
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 641-2740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT