Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 90 students

 
 

Living in Anderson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

Great school, great teachers, and great curriculum. After coming from a public school. We were a little behind. Luckily, the teachers worked with our kids to get them caught up.And they are thriving now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

My children have attended this school for the last several years. The teachers put an emphasis on the whole child - both academically and spiritually. We have enjoyed being a member of the St. Joseph family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

My children have been attending St. Josephs for the past 7 years and I have been thoroughly impressed with their performance and development. This school's success is attributable to the outstanding teaching staff who foster a positive and caring learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

The teachers at St. Joseph Catholic School are exceptional. One of my child's teachers went above and beyond to help him. We were blessed to have someone so loving and dedicated to her job. The class sizes are smaller compared to other schools, which is just what my child needed. It is truly a wonderful school with loving,dedicated teachers and strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

My children have attended St. Joseph Catholic School for several years now. I am completey satisfied with the education they are receiving. The teachers are well-qualified and extremely dedicated. The class sizes are small, allowing each child to receive individual attention. The students are encouraged and challenged both academically and spiritually on a daily basis. The atmosphere is loving and respectful. 45% of the 4th through 7th graders tested in the top 5% on national standardized tests. I am looking forward to my children attending through middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

One of my kids graduated from here and is now in mostly honors classes in high school. I attribute my son's academic success to his teachers' involvement and passion for their career while at St. Joseph. My other son is in 5th grade and I LOVE his teacher! You can be sure he will be attending their new middle school that they just added next year when he graduates from elementary school. The teachers really get to know their students and are able to push them individually down their academic path - this is something we did not get while in public school. We are so glad we switched and came to St. Joe's! By the way, both of my sons qualified to be Duke Tip scholars while attending at St. Joesph's - they must be doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I have a child who graduated from elementary school here and another currently attending. While there, my children tested above the national average in most subjects. They have a strong foundation in organization and study skills. The teachers as well as the students are caring and respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I currently have two childred attending who have been there since K4. Great, caring teachers with small class sizes. One class per grade. Strong curriculum including religious education that instills christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 50%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Black 1% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Ann Daly Wheeler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Lego League
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Cornelia Rd
Anderson, SC 29621
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 760-1619

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Covenant School
Anderson, SC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT