Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

T. L. Hanna High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2010

I have three children that attended and graduated from this school. In addition, I taught here in the same school district. My advice depends on the type of student your child is. If your child is above average and college bound...by all means...this is the better school in Anderson. Conversely, if your child is a struggling student...MOVE...It has been my experience that this school does nothing to help these students achieve. They only care about the Who's Who students and the affluent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I enjoy coming to TLH but there are some things that can be improved on.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

im a student here at hanna and i've loved it here for the past 4 years. RADIO yourr the besttttttt. :) this scholl is great! i highly recomendd.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2005

The guidance counselors at this school are the best! They work very hard to see that each child has the information they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I highly recommend Hanna High School as a school where students can choose to get involved in a variety of activities, and where they will receive a great education.I am a former Hanna teacher who has had teaching experience at 5 other high schools. My children attended the public schools in the area and we were very satisfied with their overall education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2004

I'm not a parent, but an ex-student of Hanna, and I loved it. It had great opportunities available to those interested in them, but you could do as much or as little as you wanted; educationally and extra-curricularly. Like any other opportunity, it has to be taken advantage of. I was busy seven days a week, but had close friends who only went to class (most of the time). I had wonderful relationships with certain teachers and administrators, while some friends were constantly in ISS (In School Suspension). My point is that Hanna is a fantastic school, but if the student chooses not to take advantage of its opportunities, Hanna will seem like any other.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2004

Just saw the picture RADIO and I have a downsyndrome 46yr old son that was a waterboy, manager and asst. coach at Picayune High School, Picayune MS under Coach Ezell Lee now a state senator of MS and his son Dodd Lee for 30yrs. He died this past 8/20/04 and the team honored him in the papers, state and local and the team were pallbearers. He loved people and they loved him. Picayune #1 and Coach Dodd Lee#1 he would tell everyone. Thank GOD for schools like Hanna and Coaches like Harold Jones and the Lee's. Sincerely, Billie Blades, MOM and guardian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

After sending my child to T.L. Hanna, I was appalled at the way things were at this school. I was told that this was the best school in the South, but I failed to see it. There was a lack of administrative leadership and support. I expect more from a school with such rave reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I have heard some reports about misbehaving students that are in my eyes out of control,If you have a child an or relative that is currently enrolled at TL Hanna High School, I highly recomend them to consiter to moving to another school such as Pickens High in Pickens. I hope you will proceed more with the advice given above. Sincerely, Concerned Parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

I'm a parent, but not of a student here. My family and I just watched 'Radio' and were in tears of joy at the outcome. What a great school you have. Hats off to you.


Posted September 17, 2003

T.L.Hanna is a National Blue Ribon School and a State of South Carolina Palmetto's Finest recipiant. Award winning marching band as well as Jazz band. High academic achievment school. Beautiful building and great teachers for the most part.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
African-American92%
Asian82%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabled58%
Not disabled98%
English language learners85%
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
African-American81%
Asian91%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled46%
Not disabled94%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

454 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 53%
Black 31% 36%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Hwy 81 North
Anderson, SC 29621
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 260-5110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Covenant School
Anderson, SC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT